Memes & Features · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish which features a list of ten (more or less) items/people/characters that correspond to a topic. This week’s topic was ‘Favourite authors you discovered in 2015’, which was a bit challenging to come up with because I didn’t read many new authors this year, but I’ve done my best:

10. William Ritter

Jackaby surprised me because it didn’t feel like a novel, instead I felt like I was reading through what could become a lovely tv series. It’s a light and fun novel that I had a great time reading.

9. E.C. Blake

Masks is one of the books I enjoyed reading because of the world it takes place in. The characters and story are great, don’t get me wrong, but what really made me add Blake to my list of favourite authors was the world the story was set in: it’s a hybrid of a fantasy and dystopian/post-apocalyptic world.

8. George RR Martin

Confession time: I didn’t discover Martin in 2015, how could I with Game of Thrones on tv? However, I only read the first novel in 2015 so he does fit this list. I’ve been a big fan of the series ever since it began, and, while I usually prefer the adaption over the book if I watch it first (please don’t lynch me), I enjoyed the darker aspects in the book (like how young the characters are) because it provides a different side to the story.

7. Pierce Brown

While I’d heard a lot of good things about Red Rising, I wasn’t sure if I would read it, but I’m very glad I did. The story is much more brutal than what I usually read since the MC’s focus is to destroy the society he’s placed in, but I came to really appreciate the overlapping layers Brown weaves together.

6. V.E. Schwab

One way to get me hooked is to combine science and magic, which Schwab did through parallel dimensions in the first installment of A Darker Shade of Magic. The ending is satisfying, in a way that could make it a standalone book, but it also left the path open to a sequel, which I can’t wait to read.

5. Sharon Cameron

I just finished reading Rook this Sunday so I could wax poetic about Cameron for hours. What I adored about her novel was the writing because, while others called it repetitive, it had more of an epic-poem kind of vibe to me.

4. Rachel Caine

While Rachel Caine’s been around for quite some time, I only discovered her this year through her new novel ‘Ink and Bone’. As a lover of all things ancient, I just knew I had to read a story where the Library of Alexandria survived (yes, I am still bitter over its destruction), and Caine didn’t disappoint, even adding an unexpected twist at the very end that’s kept me hook. I can’t wait to read the second installment!

3. Eleanor Herman

Another author whose story (at least the one I read) takes place in Ancient Greece, Herman’s strongest point is the flawless execution of alternating POVs in Legacy of Kings as well as the way she weaved the separate stories of several characters into one large narrative. I can’t wait for the sequel and the potential series.

2. Sabaa Tahir

I was sold on ‘An Ember in the Ashes‘ on the cover alone, and the story didn’t disappoint. I loved the way Tahir set her story in a reimagined roman empire, pitting cultures against each other.

1. Madeline Miller

I discovered Madeline Miller after reading The Song of Achilles. Her writing is beautiful, it flows easily and the almost lyrical quality to her texts had me hooked from the first few pages. Sadly, she has only written a single full length novel and I can’t find any indication that she’ll write any more.

Please don’t hesitate to share your favourite authors that you discovered this year!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

  1. I keep hearing great things about Schwab, so I’ll have to read her. Since you’re into ancient Greece and Egypt you might like Weighing Shadows, although I didn’t care for it (sorry for the not-recommendation). Hope you’ll check out my list as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Schwab is great if you want a change of pace because the world she sets her story in is quite unique, IMO. Don’t worry about the non-recommendation, I did check out the book and I think I’ll be adding it to my TBR pile (which just seems to be getting bigger by the day, I swear). Your list is great, I might check out a few authors from it too, especially Kate Grenville, the book you featured sounds very interesting!

      Like

  2. Great list! Did you find the second half of ADSoM better than the first? I’m still about 51% through and I’m finding it a little bit slow, it hasn’t quite grabbed me yet. Hopefully I’ll start liking it better, I want to join the hype, haha!

    Like

    1. I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to fantastic worlds so I enjoyed the slow pace but I do understand what you mean. The pace certainly picked up towards the end, especially once everything was explained properly. Here’s to hoping you also the join hype!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

