Memes & Features

The Pastry Book Tag

While I wasn’t strictly speaking personally tagged, Anette over @ Anette Reads (you can see her own Pastry Book Tag here) invited anyone interested in doing it, so thanks for that! 🙂

CROISSANT: NAME A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE (INCLUDING YOU) LOVES

I don’t think there’s even a question here: Harry Potter by JK Rowling.

(Fun fact: Did you know her last name rhymes with ‘rolling’? Because I didn’t until this moment)

MACARONS: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS HARD TO GET THROUGH BUT WORTH IT IN THE END

I’m usually a very fast reader (which comes in handy when studying English at uni) but when it comes to the classics older books I tend not to like them because the differences in the language slow me down and they’re just harder to understand, which is why The Scarlet Letter by Nathaliel Hawthorne surprised me so much.

VOL-AU-VENT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGHT WILL BE AMAZING BUT FELL FLAT

I started the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep back in 2012 and I got through the first 3 books thinking it was an amazing series. Since Crimson Frost, the 4rth book, hadn’t come out at the time, I dropped the series for a while. This summer I saw the book and I was delighted because I suddenly remembered I hadn’t finish this series that I loved, but no. I don’t know what it was but I just couldn’t muster the enthusiasm I used to have and I just found myself being bored with about 80% of the book.

PAIN-AU-CHOCOLAT: NAME A BOOK THAT YOU THOUGH WOULD BE ONE THING BUT TURNED OUT TO BE SOMETHING ELSE

I watched the film adaptation before reading Stardust so the book was a huge surprise.

PROFITEROLE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT DOESN’T GET ENOUGH ATTENTION

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. I could go on for HOURS about how ABSOLUTELY AMAZING this series it but I won’t (and you should be very grateful for that because it is SO HARD not to give in to the feels). The series’ two books, Seraphina and Shadow Scale, weave such a fantastic story which is peppered with amazing and diverse characters, and interesting subplots, that I place these books (Shadow Scale more than Seraphina) at the very top of my favourites list.

CROQUEMBOUCHE: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT’S COMPLETELY COMPLEX

The most complex series I’ve ever read is a tie between A Song of Ice and Fire by Georges RR Martin and The Lord of the Rings by J RR Tolkien. Both are incredibly complex, set in worlds that captivate the reader (I recently discovered there are videos that actually attempt to explain the seasons in aSoIaF with science) and require your full attention when reading (I actually had to write things down in order to keep track of them in both cases).

NAPOLEON: NAME A MOVIE OR TV SHOW BASED OFF A BOOK THAT YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK ITSELF

I feel like I might get a lot of hate for this but I have to say The Hundred by Kass Morgan. When I first found out about The 100 as a series I was so excited and delighted it turned out so well, but I had no idea the series was based on a book until halfway through season 1. By that point, I’d come to love how the characters were protrayed in the series so when I finally picked up the first book (after the end of season 2) I have to admit I was a bit disappointed.

EMPANADA: NAME A BOOK THAT WAS BITTERSWEET

If you’ve read the Iliad or seen the movie Troy (while inaccurate it sort of keeps the general narrative intact), and you decided to pick up The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, then you’re de facto braced for the ending, BUT IT STILL HURTS SO MUCH. I loved TSoA (you can read my review of it here) but it hit me so hard, I can’t even think about it without bringing myself to tears, despite its happy ending.

KOLOMPEH: NAME A BOOK OR SERIES THAT TAKES PLACE SOMEWHERE OTHER THAN YOUR OWN COUNTRY

At this point, I have to admit I’ve yet to read a single book set in Switzerland but I’ll take it one step further and name a book set outside the US and UK too: The Book Thief by Mark Zusak.

PATE-A-CHOUX: NAME A FOOD FROM A BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO TRY

Literally anything from the Harry Potter universe, even cockroach clusters, I don’t care at this point I WANT THE MAGIC.


I’m new to the blogging sphere so I tag anyone who wants to do it. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

    1. If you love the show, just don’t read the book. You’re going to think it’s all wrong and then remember that it was, in fact, the source material for the show. I just felt so weird after I finished it

      Like

Leave a Reply

