Memes & Features

WWW Wednesdays

 

WWW wednesday

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme, which was created by by MizB @ Should be Reading, is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words, and it’s a great way to keep track of your week in books.

To participate just answer these three Ws:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

 

Currently reading

18296016

I’m currently reading The Ring and the Crown by Melissa De La Cruz which tells the story of how Princess Marie-Victoria comes to accept her place as the heir of the Franco-British Empire in the beginning of the 20th century. I’m only at the beginning but it’s intriguing so far since there are multiple POVs and stories. I can’t wait to see how they all connect in the end!

Recently finished

As it turns out, I’m one of the lucky ones this semester because I don’t have anything due this month (a fact that infuriates a friend of mine to no end), so I was able to get a lot of reading done:

  • Rook by Sharon Cameron: Set in a dystopian future at least 800 years from now, Rook tells the story of how The Red Rook saved The Sunken City (formerly Paris) from a government similar to Robespierre’s Reign of Terror. I enjoyed this book immensely but it’s not for everyone since it’s very dense.
  • Beastly Bones by William Ritter: The second book in the Jackaby series follows Abigail Rook and Jackaby as they embark on an investigation into the theft of bone fossils only to discover that there is a much larger plan at work. This book wasn’t as strong as Jackaby and it was much more obvious in how it was setting up a third book but I enjoyed it nonetheless (you can read my review of it here).
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch: Set in a land where 8 kingdoms live in uneasy peace after Spring all by decimated Winter, Snow Like Ashes follows Meira and 7 other winter refugees as they try to win back their kingdom. This book fell flat for me because I figured out the twist after chapter 2 so once the surprise was gone, I was in a constant state of ‘meh’.

Reading next

I am terribly indecisive when it comes to which book I want to read next (which was only made worse when I discovered ebooks because now each is only a click away) but I’ve narrowed my choices down to 5:

  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: I’ve heard amazing things about this series in general and the first book’s been on my TBR list for a while now
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo: The Grisha trilogy is one of the best series I’ve read so it might be time to finish it (but if I don’t, then the magic doesn’t have to end)
  • The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman: I only recently discovered this book and the premise sounds amazing so of course it was immediately added to me TBR list (this is what late night browsing on goodreads does to you)
  • The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle: Again, it’s the premise for this one that got me. Ancient curse that causes a family to be very accident prone once a year? Sign me up!
  • The Game of Love and Death: While I’m not a fan of the whole obsession over the supposed legendary love between Romeo and Juliet (it lasted three days, Romeo is a douche, people died, it’s not romantic), I can’t resist a good love story and the idea that Love and Death are sentient masterminds is just an added bonus.

These are my choices for the week, what about you guys?

 

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays

  1. I hope you enjoy Throne of Glass. The series gets better as you get further into it.
    I enjoyed The Invisible Library although it takes a while to get into its stride. By the end I was with it though and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel.
    Ruin and Rising introduces my favourite character in the Grisha trilogy – I hope you like it.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/www-wednesday-16th-december-2015/

    Like

  2. Throne Of Glass is a great series, although the first book is still my least favorite of the bunch. The Grisha trilogy is great as well! And I have The Accident Season, Rook, Snow Like Ashes and The Invisible Library on my TBR pile.

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

Leave a Reply

