Memes & Features

Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

I’d like to thank Kelly from Stellar Scrutiny (you can check out her own tag here) for this tag!

The Rules

  • Thank the creator (thanks, Jordyn!) and the individual who tagged you
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there
  • State the best gift you’ve received after answering the prompt on your birthday month
  • Tag anyone

December

… is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

That’s easy enough, I’m already planning on gifting my best friend Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray because she absolutely loved the first book (the moments when she gushes over books are rare so I know this is a good one).

January

… begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

To be perfectly honest, I legitimately don’t remember any of the resolutions I made for this year so I can’t really answer this question. It’s entirely possible I didn’t actually make any because I’ve never actually kept to them in the past anyway…

February

… is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

one? One? ONE???????

If you insist, I’d have to choose Seraphina Dombegh and Lucian Kiggs from the Seraphina series by Rachel Hartman  because they’re just so sweet to each other (seriously guys READ THE SERIES IT’S GREAT)

March

… is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book/series you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

Again: one? One? ONE???????

Fine then, all of Rick Riordan’s books, because, deep down, they’re all connected so you can sort of consider them one series (am I pushing it? I don’t care).

April

… is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

The Selection by Kiera Cass just didn’t do it for me. The premise itself wasn’t that appealing but after reading a number of good reviews, I decided to give it a go. I didn’t like it, it was just as flat as I’d thought it would be and I don’t see why everyone else loves it so much.

May

… is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

When my bestie suggested A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, I wasn’t sold because our tastes aren’t similar when it comes to books but I was very surprised while reading it. While it’s not one of my favourite books, it’s certainly very interesting and the writing is expertly done (a challenge when the plot deals with parallel dimensions).

June

… is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

Checking out usually means I’ll pick up a physical book as opposed to an electronic one, so it’s usually a choice between the Harry Potter series or Percy Jackson one.

July

… is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks.

If you’ve been following me for any length of time, the answer to this question should be obvious: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller because it is just SO PERFECT (excuse while I go cry in a corner now because of the feels)

August

… is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

Without a doubt, this one goes to Sabaa Tahir who wrote An Ember in the Ashes.

September

… is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne surprised me because the story itself is so, so boring if you think about it (I can literally sum up the entire thing in a paragraph without missing any important bits) and yet he manages to make it captivating through the beautiful prose and a peculiar narrator.

October

… is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as.

I’m torn between Sophia Bellamy from Sharon Cameron’s Rook, or Nellie Fuller from William Ritter’s Beastly Bones because I can’t decide if I’d rather carry a sword or wear a dress…

Incidentally October’s my birth month but I can’t remember what the coolest birthday gift I’ve ever received is… Does money to buy myself a ticket to visit my family in Greece count?

November

… is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

I want to say The Song of Achilles but, because I love you guys, I’m going to give you some variety and say Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout because it’s the book that lit the spark of book blogging in me. It came as a recommendation from Goodreads so thanks for that!


I’m just going to go ahead and tag anyone who wants to have a go at it, go ahead, I tag you! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

Leave a Reply

