Challenges

My 2016 Challenges

Happy 2016 everyone! I hope you had a fun time welcoming the new year, I know I did, trying to convince my cousins to stop hogging all the champagne (no, joking, that was just one cousin), and learning how to use instagram.

Anyways since I only started blogging last month, I haven’t taken part in any reading challenges apart from the Goodreads Reading Challenge (which I completed, yay for me!) but I will this year. I don’t want to be overly ambitious so I’ll only be taking part in 4 for now.

The 2016 New Release Challenge

New-Release-Challenge2016

Hosted by Lexxie @ Unconventional Bookviews, in order to complete this challenge I’ll have to read a number of books released in 2016 (if you want to know more about it, you can read about it in detail here). I’m already super excited for all the books coming out this year (both debut and part of ongoing series) so this challenge is perfect for me.

The rules:

  • Books have to be released and reviewed in 2016.
  • Other challenges can be used as well, if you are participating in the Netgalley / Edelweiss challenge or in the COYER challenge, books can count towards more than one challenge, as long as the ones you use for the 2016 New Release Reading Challenge qualify to the other rules.
  • The minimum length for a book to qualify is 100 pages, it can be in any format though, physical, e-book, ARC or audiobook.
  • The New Book Release Challenge is open from January 1st through December 31st 2016, and sign-ups are open until February 15th 2016.
  • You don’t have to be a blogger to participate, you can link to your review on Goodreads or Booklikes instead – so don’t be shy!

As with most challenges, there are several levels you can attain while participating, specifically four:

  1. 1-15 books per year – New Release Newbie
  2. 16-30 books per year – New Release Pro
  3. 31-45 books per year – New Release Veteran
  4. 45+ books per year – New Release Enthusiast

I’m hoping to get to ‘New Release Veteran’ but that’s rather ambitious all things considered so I’ll be very satisfied.

To sign up for this, please link your sign-up post in the linky from the original post. You can choose if you want to do monthly or quarterly challenge updates, but you will have the possibility to link up each month with your reviews.

The Series Challenge

final2b22blarge

Hosted by Bea @ Bea’s Book Nook, this challenge is basically the push I need to complete the series I’ve left hanging (if you want to know more, you can check out this post).

The Rules:

  • All books that are part of a continuing series qualify
  • It doesn’t matter if you have 1 book or 10 books in a series to complete it, it qualifies. The goal is to complete a series from wherever you are up to until the last published book.
  • The qualification period is January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016. Books must be read during this time frame to count. Sign up is now until December 1, 2016.
  • Take the button above and post about it on your blog. Use the link below to sign up and make sure you link it directly to your post about this challenge, not to the home page of your blog.
  • If you don’t have a blog, that’s fine. Just leave a comment to sign up and tell us which series you are reading. Or you can join the Goodreads group for this challenge by clicking here.
  • Each month there will be a post where you can link up your reviews. Write a review – 2 sentences or an essay, whatever works for you, but there is a minimum of 2 sentences. Not sure what to write? How about something like, “The characters were a delight but the story was slow and confusing. It was disappointing.”
  • Any format and length of book counts – print, audio, ebook, etc.
  • You should choose the series you want to finish before the challenge begins, but it isn’t necessary. It’s fine to change series during the year – as long as you complete whichever series it is.
  • Choose a level: Level 1 (Novice series reader) – Complete 1 series, Level 2 (Testing the waters) – Complete 2 -4 series, Level 3 (Experienced) – Complete 3 – 6 series, Level 4 (Expert series reader) – Complete 7 or more series.

I’ll aim for achieving level 4 but I’ll be very happy with level 3!

My Series

The Great Library by Rachel Caine

Ink and Bone
Paper and Fire

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes
A Torch Against the Night

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer
The Hammer of Thor

Reawakened by Colleen Houck

Reawakened
Recreated

Shades of Magic by V. E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic
A Gathering of Shadows

Blood of Gods and Royals by Eleanor Herman

Voice of Gods
Legacy of Kings
Empire of Dust

The Grisha by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Infernal Devices Trilogy

The Clockwork Angel
The Clockwork Prince
The Clockwork Princess

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones
City of Ashes
City of Glass
City of Fallen Angels
City of Lost Souls
City of Heavenly Fire

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys
Dream Thieves
Blue Lily, Lily Blue

The Raven King

The Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat

Captive Prince
Prince’s Gambit
Kings Rising

Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown

Red Rising
Golden Son
Morning Star

The Archer’s Heart series by Astrid Amara

The Archer’s Heart Book 1
The Archer’s Heart Book 2
The Archer’s Heart Book 3

Wolf by Wolf series by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf
Iron to Iron
Blood for Blood

Jackaby series by William Ritter

Jackaby
The Map
Beastly Bones
Ghostly Echoes

Goodreads Reading Challenge

3890

I’ve been participating in this challenge for the past 4 years and I’ve completed them each time but I usually signed up later into the year so my goals weren’t very high (I had 27 books for 2015, even my 13yo sister did better than that) but this year I’ve set my sights on 80 and I’m hoping I won’t have to lower it later.

Commenting 365 challenge!

unnamed-35

I recently found out about the Commenting 365 Challenge hosted  Nori @ ReadWriteLove28. Basically, you have to leave comments on 365 different blogs in order to complete this challenge (to learn more click here). Since I’m new, this will be a great way to meet new bloggers and get more invested in the community!


I might add more challenges as I go along  but I’m keeping it on the down low for now. Are you guys taking up any bookish challenges this year?

2 thoughts on “My 2016 Challenges

Leave a Reply

