Bookish musings

End of the Year Survey 2015

 

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-900x865

I was delighted to discover this survey created by Jamie @ Perpetual Page Turner because it’s such a great way summerise my year in books but also to let you guys know about it since I only started blogging last month. So here it is:

reading-stats-2015-1024x278-900x244  

Number Of Books You Read: 33
Number of Re-Reads: 4
Genre You Read The Most From: YA

best-YA-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

13537029

Beyond doubt it’s The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. This is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time, and I can’t stop gushing about it once I get started (which is pretty obvious in my review of it) so I’ll just stop talking now.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

24740629

I absolutely adore egyptian mythology and I was so excited when I found out Colleen Houck was writing Reawakened. I was even more delighted when the book turned out great until one specific thing happened, which left a bad taste in my mouth for the rest of the story.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  17370280

I’ve been a fan of The Hundred tv series ever since it came out and I decided I’d give the books a try this summer. I was very surprised by how different the two were and I kept having to remind myself that the book came first, which only made me appreciate the series more because the book was just very disappointing.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

That would be The Song of Achilles, which I told everyone and their mothers about once I finished it and actually got a few of my friends to read!

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

I refuse to choose a single series so here’s my list:

The best sequel and series ender I read this year are one and the same:

16085457

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman is the second book in the Seraphina series. While the first book is a bit dull I’ll admit, this second book more than makes up for it, so I recommend it to anyone who loves dragons and political intrigue.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Am I becoming too redundant by saying Madeline Miller, the author of The Song of Achilles? I can’t help it, this book is P-E-R-F-E-C-T!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

786930

I had to read The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne for uni last semester but I grew to really appreciate the book and, more particularly, the way its told. The narrator makes Hester’s boring story seem riveting and the writing is excellent.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

I read An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir in one sitting with an exam the next day (which I passed) because wow, just wow.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

  • The Song of Achilles (you knew that was coming)
  • A Darker Shade of Magic 

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

20643052

No but just LOOK at the cover of Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Jackaby from William Ritter’s Jackaby for his quirkiness.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

The first book that popped to mind was The Song of Achilles because it is spectacular but I also feel like Rook by Sharon Cameron is worth mentioning for reasons I’ve detailed in my review.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Reawakened really made me pause to think of the canon pairings in the books I read after it.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

The Song of Achilles which was originally published in 2011.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

My memory is notoriously terrible when it comes to remembering the specifics of a book but there’s one quote that’s really stuck with me:

“Have you no more memories?”

I am made of memories.

“Speak, then.”

From The Song of Achilles.

Now excuse me while I go cry in a corner because of the feels.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest book: The Archer’s Heart Book One by Astrid Amara, 263 pages

Longest book: A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, 806 pages

 

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman even if I sort of picked up on the little hints about the reveal.

 

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Patroclus and Achilles!

They’re so cute, I will fight anyone who disagrees.

 

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The relationship between Hearth and Blitzen in The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan, even though I think they’re perf for each other and should just declare their undying love for each other already.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Sword of Summer because I’m a sucker for any Rick Riordan book

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

17234658.jpg

My best friend gushed at length about A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray so I just had to pick it up, since she rarely does so, and I don’t regret that decision at all.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

I’m torn between Elias Veturius from An Ember in the Ashes and Sophia Bellamy from Rook. Can’t I have both?

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

This one should be obvious, the world of Game of Thrones.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

I enjoyed reading both The Sword of Summer and Jackaby equally because of the characters and their humour/social awkwardness.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

The Song of Achilles had me in tears for hours after I finished it. In fact I still get very emotional when I think about it at length and looking for the exact wording of the quote in question 15 brought tears to my eyes.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Shadow Scale took the Seraphina series to an whole new level.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

I don’t want to say The Song of Achilles but I have to, I cant think of any other book that fits this description.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

19095106

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff was a unique book because it’s the first I’ve ever read that had anything to do with Japanese folklore.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

16120126

You know what this book has? It has the whole ‘Oh she’s in love with me and now that I know I realise that she’s always been there for me and I’ve always actually loved her too’ trope that I HATE SO MUCH.

book-blogging-900x244

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Stellar Scrutiny is one of my favourite blogs and Kelly is such a nice person. If you’re into my blog, I highly recommend you check hers out too!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

I’m quite proud of my review of Rook because of how deep I go into the writing, it really showed how much my first year of uni taught me.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I had a lot of fun writing my ‘Sisterhood of World Bloggers‘ post because my cousin and sister contributed to it, and we were brainstorming ideas over lunch while the rest of the family just stared at us, confused.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Since I only started blogging last month, I haven’t participated in anything yet so I can’t really answer this question.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

When Kelly from Stellar Scrutiny nominated me for The Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award!

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I’d have to say it was actually reading books because I was aiming for 150 books but I barely got to 33 what with my classes, exams, and general reading slump.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My Sisterhood of World Bloggers Award post is my most popular post by views.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I honestly don’t know.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Well I’d have to say the entire blogging community here on WordPress actually.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Well I completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge after lowering it to 27 books, otherwise no.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

I’ve actually recently started rereading the first book in Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy and I just bought the other two books so I’ll start The Clockwork Prince very soon.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

I can’t wait for A Torch in the Night, sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, to find out what happens to Laia and Elias!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

20983362

Time travel + Pirates, need I say more?

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

25890355

I can’t wait to read the sequel to Ink and Bone and find out what happens to books in this dystopian world.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

don’t know, I guess expand? I mean I’ve only been blogging for about a month now so I don’t know what goals I can set just yet.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any ARCs just yet so I can’t recommend anything.

 

6 thoughts on “End of the Year Survey 2015

  1. Yessss, A Torch in the Night! I’m excited for that one too. Sounds like you had an interesting reading year! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a positive review for The 100, but for some reason that makes me even more curious to read it eventually.

    Like

    1. You’re the second person to tell my The 100 hasn’t received great reviews, I actually had no idea about that when I picked it up I just wanted to read the source material. If you’re as attached to the series as I am, the book is a huge surprise more than anything (and not a good one either) but on its own it could be considered a decent book (I’m very biased that way).

      Like

  2. Great post. This survey takes so much time to do every year, I feel we should all be awarded a medal for completing it. I have heard so many good things about The Song About Achilles, I feel I really need to take the time to read that one myself. Magnus Chase was such a fun book to read, I absolutely loved it and can’t wait for the next book in the series. Red Rising is one of my favourite books that I read in 2014, and I loved the sequel. So excited for Morning Star to come out this year.

    Great answers! I hope you have a great reading year in 2016! 🙂 Here’s my survey if you want to check it out.

    Like

    1. Absolutely, it took me the better part of my day to make this post! The Song of Achilles is a stunning book, I wholeheartedly recommend it, even if you might find yourself crying over those two adorable dorks (the best books always do that anyway). Tbh, Rick Riordan is an automatic read for me, he could write about Percy making blue pancakes for 400 pages and I’d still enjoy it so I am patiently waiting for the sequel and his new series! Red Rising was so different from what I was expecting when I read the description but that made it even better, I’m waiting for Morning Star to come out so that I can finish the trilogy in one sitting.
      Here’s to you also having a great reading year in 2016!

      Like

  3. I’ve heard such good things about Magnus Chase! I’ve not actually finished the Percy series yet, though, so I should probably do that before I start the next one 😉

    GRRM also came under best worldbuilding for me. Obviously. Did you enjoy AGoT??

    I’ve also heard a lot about A Darker Shade of Magic (it seems to be cropping up in everyone’s survey!) so I should definitely read it, too.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. It’s probably a good idea to get Annabeth’s full story before moving on to Magnus Chase but I wholeheartedly recommend it if you liked the Percy Jackson books!
      I really enjoyed A Game of Thrones, even though it was really long to get through; it actually reminded me of Lord of the Rings where my reading experience is concerned.
      If you like strange worlds and action packed stories, I really recommend it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

