Memes & Features · Tags

The Inside Out Book Tag

12506848_10205450384480901_1132206580_n

I have a confession to make: I haven’t actually watched Inside Out yet. I know,  know, I absolutely have to, but I’ve always been more inclined to read a book or start a new series (my downfall, really) instead of watch a film but I’ll get around to it eventually. I saw this tag on Kelly’s blog, Stellar Scrutiny, and decided to do it myself.

A Book That Brings You Joy

JOY_Render.png

First question and I already had to struggle to choose a single book. After much deliberation, I chose The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke. This book is absolutely magical in the best possible! I loved reading about Ananna and Naji’s adventures as they set off to break the curse, while the ending surprised me so much because it was refreshing and satisfying in the way it didn’t make any of the characters compromise in any way.

 

A Book That Brings You Sadness

I was going to name The Song of Achilles by sadnesswaveMadeline Miller BUT I want to have some variety so I’m going to say Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling. While at first I breezed through this book, the second time I read it I cried my eyes out because I’d gotten very attached to Sirius (and Wolfstar in general) and reading about Harry losing him was a blow to my fragile little shipper heart.

A Book That Brings You FearFear

At first I couldn’t think of any book because I tend to shy away from horror and thrillers (it’s not just books, its also films and series unless copious amounts of alcohol are involved where the last two are concerned) but I can think of one book that fits this catoegory. The Kommandant’s Girl by Pam Jenoff about a young Jewish girl who catches the eye of a nazi official while hiding her true identity, had my pulse racing with every new chapter.

 

A Book That Brings You Anger

angerhothead

No doubt about it, it’s Reawakened by Colleen Houck. I’ve read the first few books of The Tiger Saga so I was delighted when I found out she was writing a book about Egyptian mythology, one of my fvourite subjects. But no. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love the concept, the characters, the story, pretty much everything actually but its the love story in this book that just drives me up the wall [I’ll explain further at the end of this post, as it contains spoilers for the story].

A Book Books That Brings You Disgust

disgustyuk Can I cheat? Imma cheat on this one. The entirety of the Fifty Shades trilogy by E. L. James. It’s bad guys, it’s so bad. Not only is the writing bad (this is an actual sentence that was actually published: ‘I feel the color in my cheeks rising again. I must be the color of The Communist Manifesto.’ ) but Christian Grey is an abusive, sadistic, man who barely disguises his disgusting actions. On top of that, the justification is that all of this is somehow part of the BDSM etiquette,  and the only reason someone would willingly take part in that is because they were abused as children.

This song perfectly illustrates my feelings towards these books:

I Tag

All of you! I want to hear which books make you see red and which make you squeal!


 

[WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE SPOILED ABOUT REAWAKENED. Also, some strong language]

I am very angry at Reawakened because at some point during the book, Lily makes a move to leave Amon and he literally controls her. She is forced to help him, against her own will, and makes it very clear how revolted she was by that. In fact, her entire life, she’s had her choices taken away from her by her parents, so this act is even more horrifying to her in that way. AND THEN SHE GOES AND FALLS HEAD OVER FUCKING HEELS FOR HIS ASS. I don’t know about you, but that ruined the rest of the book for me, I knew they were going to get together, that was obvious from the beginning and I shipped them like mad, but after that moment, it just left a bad taste in my mouth. I will be reading the rest of the trilogy because Houck hinted at it being about his other two brothers and not concentrating on Lily and Amon, BUT I’ll be much more apprehensive about the romantic pairings.

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Inside Out Book Tag

    1. I know, it looks super cute as well. I think it’s time to finally watch it so I’ll get to that as soon as possible!
      The more invested I got into HP and Wolfstar, the more book 5 hurts when I reread the series.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. OH MY LORD SOMEONE WHO HATE REAWAKENED ❤ ❤ XD God bless ya woman, because as an Egyptian, that book pissed me off so much I ranted about it.
    And yes, the romance was so damn bad I wanted to gouge my eyes out.

    Other than that, I really enjoyed your book tag, it's so cute ❤ 🙂
    ~Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It really doesn’t. My problem goes slightly further. Basically, besides the atrocious romance and crappy characters, Me Houck pulled the ‘mythology’, out of her ass. (Please excuse my bad language 😛 ). I’ve studied ancient mythology, and she’s fucked up every portrayal of the major, ancient gods. And there was absolutely nothing Egyptian about the book – for gods sake, she eats BACON in Egypt. That’s really hard to do – even in hotels.
        I’m sorry about the rant – but her novel feels like cultural appropriation. Something she uses so she can label it ‘exotic’.

        Like

      2. I had no idea she fucked it up so much (I don’t mind the language, the warning was for others), it’s been a long time since I read up on my egyptian myths but I’ll be sure to get to that, you’ve intrigued me. I’m usually very lax when it comes to foreign authors getting mythology correctly (I can’t exactly expect someone who hasn’t grown up in Greece to know every aspect of a myth) but I do expect them to stick to the basics at least, so thanks for letting me know about that. No need to apologise about ranting, I’m actually really glad to know all this, it’s making me even more uncertain about picking up the rest of the series.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I was surprised too, tbh. In fact, after Greek Mythology, it’s one of the most easily used (and easily googled). I wasn’t expecting perfection, and I knew she’d have to bend some aspects, but I wasn’t expecting an overhaul
        There was a review on Goodreads that actually explained some of what was wrong : https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1298053478?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1
        There were other things, but I forget. 😛
        I’m definitely picking up the next book in the series…to rant about XD

        Like

Leave a Reply

