Memes & Features

Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 Releases I Didn’t Manage To Get To

 
It’s Tuesday again so it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where, each week, bloggers are invited to create their own top ten lists (if you want to know more about it, you can find out about it here).

This weeks’ topic is ‘Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t’ which will we tough to narrow down because I didn’t really read that many books last year, so here the are:

I’ve been a fan of the podcast for years now, I love the quirky characters, the strange events, and of course hearing Cecil narrate the happenings of Night Vale (and gushing over Carlos), so I was delighted to find out about the books. While this came out in October, I’m putting it off until I can catch up on the podcast because I read the story takes place between two of the episodes and there are references for those in the know.

I’ve been a fan of the Emily Windsnap series since I was a little girl. The mermaids and the magic were enchanting while Emily is such a strong character and a great role model for children. I can’t comment on the writing, as I’ve read the first four books in greek, but the translations were fantastic. It’s been years since I read a book that was part of this series because I thought the 4rth book was the last so when I discovered there were another TWO I haven’t read, it ignited my love for the series once again.

The premise to this book sounds fantastic and I’ve been wanting to read it for over a year now (well before it actually came out) but I never got around to it I guess? Actually no, I haven’t picked this book up because the couples it cites aren’t ones I admire personally (let’s face it, Romeo not being able to control his dick led to three people dying, and that’s not exactly the epitome of romance) so that’s holding me back.

Another book with a fantastic premise that I just didn’t get to in 2015 but I’ll definitely get to it this year! I’m very curious to read about an entire family cursed to be as clumsy as Bella once a year, every year.

I don’t usually pick up horror as a genre, in fact I think this is the first horror book I really want to read because who doesn’t want to read about a Sherlock-Moriartyesque face-off with a villain named Pinhead?

Doctor Who with librarian spies? I’m sold!

I’ve only very rarely read contemporary books but I’ve heard such good things about this book, I feel like I’m honour-bound to read it.

I only discovered Red Rising, the first installment in the trilogy, in 2015 but I was swept away by the story. It’s more brutal than what I was used to but that didn’t stop me from enjoying every aspect of this book. I’m currently waiting for the third book, Morning Star, to be released in February so that I can binge read the rest of the series.

I fell in love with the Grisha world (even though I haven’t finished the trilogy yet) as well as Leigh Bargudo’s writing style so I was delighted to find out she was writing another book set in the same universe. To add to that, the reviews have been so positive and everyone who’s read it keep recommending it, so it’s definitely I book I want to get to soon!

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I have no excuse as to why I haven’t picked this book up yet, I honestly don’t.


 

So those are the 2015 release I missed this year, tell me about yours?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 Releases I Didn’t Manage To Get To

  1. Six of Crows is a priority read I definitely want to get this year. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens is such a sweet contemporary. I really loved it last year. And oh my goodness, I wasn’t expecting to see Emily Windsnap on her! I adored those books as a kid. And the covers are stunning. I believe I read up to the Castle Mist but I do want to read the alter installments one day.

    Like

    1. I think you might be the first person I talk to who knows about Emily Windsnap other than myself! When I found the series on Goodreads, it brought back so many memories, I couldn’t very well NOT see it through!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

