Memes & Features

Book Traveling Thursdays

 

While I was at the book store today, I kept noticing the difference between the Greek covers and the original covers, so I figured I’d do a post on that only to find out that this meme already existed! Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. The goal is to share the covers of a book related to that week’s theme, which you can check out in the Goodreads group, indicating the original cover, the one of your country, your favourite and least favourite.

This week’s theme was ‘New Year, New You: Pick A book that Inspires You’ and, right off the bat, I’m going to go ahead and cheat by showing two books: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout and The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. The reason I’m going for those two is because Katy from Obsidian inspired me to start my first book blog back in 2012 (which I quickly gave up on), and my feelings towards The Song of Achilles pushed me into creating this blog last month (I just needed to tell people how absolutely amazing this book was). So here we go:

Original Covers

While I have a soft spot for The Song of Achilles, I think both covers fit their respective stories.

Covers from my countries (Greece & Switzerland)

I study in Switzerland so I live there most of the time, but I grew up in Greece so I consider both countries my home:

Greek Covers

I wish the Greek cover of Obsidian were green, otherwise they’re great.

Swiss Covers

Just look at Obsidian’s cover. No but look at how gorgeous it is!

Favourite Covers

The french cover of Obsidian is stunning, it does a good job of turning the story into a single metaphor while keeping the green theme. On the other hand, the dutch cover of The Song of Achilles reminds me of Dumbledore’s quote ‘Happiness can be found even in the darkest times if one only remembers to turn on the light.’, which is very relevant to the story.

Least Favourite Covers

  • The Song of Achilles:

I have  pet peeve, it’s a rather silly one, I know, but I can’t help it: I can’t stand when someone writes a word from one language using a foreign alphabet to ‘make it look pretty/cool/[insert adjective here]’, because it’s usually the greek alphabet, which I can read. For example, the Portuguese cover on the left here is using the letters ‘Θ’ and ‘Ξ’ to replace ‘O’ and ‘E’, which, in turn, makes me read the cover like this at first glance: ‘Theta Cantth dx Aquilxs’. It’s just annoying, really.

As for the German cover on the right, I have issues with it, a lot of issues. First there’s the font, it belongs on a science fiction novel not a historical fiction/romance, then there’s the colours that look like they were chosen by a child, and finally that suit of armour. That, my dear friends, is plated armour which appeared during the Middle Ages, and not around 2000 BC which is when this story takes place.

  • Obsidian:

When it comes to Obsidian, I don’t like the 2011 Kindle edition on the left, I don’t have a particular reason, just that it doesn’t sit right with me; nor do I like the audiobook cover in the middle, because what is going on in there? What is Katy even supposed to be doing? As for the Italian cover on the right, I see that and think vampires not aliens, also it looks a lot like the 2008 paperback edition of Twilight, which I don’t really want to remember exists.

 

 

Leave a Reply

