Tags

Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

I was tagged for this by Anette @ Anette Reads, so thank you for that!

OPENING CREDITS: Favorite childhood book

 

Literally any Dr. Seuss book. I had them all and I had my parents read them to me every night as a bed time story.

(I think my mom wanted to burn the lot after she’d pretty much memorised them)

WAKING UP: A book that got you out of a reading slump

Around February of last year I stopped reading books for a few months (it wasn’t a reading slump, per se, since I discovered the gift that is fanfiction and basically spent months reading any HP fanfic I could get my hands on, particularly Wolfstar and Drarry) with no motivation to pick one back up until I was met with An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I was reluctant about picking it up at first (my mind refused to accept anything that wasn’t Drarry by that point, it was a dark time) but the story absolutely took my breath away.

SCHOOL: A book you had to read for school that you ended up loving

I was never too thrilled about reading books for school, as they were generally classics and I often had a hard time grasping the deeper meaning of the text, since my french wasn’t the best and I was confronted with older and more complicated french. However, one year my greek teacher told us to pick a book from a list and I went for the shortest one. Η Εκτέλεση by Φρέντυ Γερμανός (translation: The Execution by Freddy Germanos) was not at all what I expected, so it left a lasting impression on me.

FALLING IN LOVE: An author you love so much you want to read all of their books

Since you insist on making me choose just one: Rick Riordan, no doubt about it.

FIGHT: Book with the best action sequences

I have a terrible memory when it comes to remembering the specifics of a book so I can’t recall which book has the best action sequences but I am currently reading The Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare which has a very solid fighting sequence right at the beginning that draws the reader in thanks to its fast pace and rapid change in POVs.

BREAK UP: A book or series you didn’t finish and do not intend to finish

So many series fit this description, it’s not even funny.

For the sake of the argument, I’ll narrow it down to just one: The Dante Walker series by Victoria Scott. The MC is the most arrogant and obnoxious character I’ve ever had the displeasure of reading, and when he finally realises that maybe, JUST MAYBE, he shouldn’t saunter about like he’s god’s gift to women everywhere, the girl he falls in love with becomes magically beautiful anyway. I have a friend who’s like him, it’s not charming in real life and it’s not charming in books.

HANGING WITH FRIENDS: Book you think everyone else should read

Can you guess which book I’m about to choose?

If you guessed The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, then congratulations, you were right.

Now excuse me while I go cry in a corner because this book is so amazing, I don’t have the proper vocabulary to translate my feelings about it.

BREAKDOWN: Book that seriously affected you/had you crying your eyes out

Guess what guys? I’m not going to say The Song of Achilles for this one because I’m a fan of variety, thank you very much.

A book that seriously affected me would be The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket since I am terrified of that book. When I was 8, my dad started reading this book to me as a bedtime story and the death of one of the characters really traumatised me then, I couldn’t sleep for weeks. I’m sure I would be perfectly at home with it right now but I don’t think I can pick it up quite yet.

On the other hand, a book that had me crying my eyes out is The Book Thief by Mrkus Zusak, I’m sure anyone who’s read it will understand why.

ROADTRIP: You favorite series (more than 3 books)

Harry Potter, that’s all I’ll say.

FLASHBACK: Your favorite book from 5 years ago

5 years ago, I was 14. What a lovely period of my life. *dies from embarrassment*

At 14, the only books I read voluntarily and enjoyed were  Twilight and its sequels.

GETTING BACK TOGETHER: What book can you not stop rereading

The Harry Potter series

*looks away guiltily*

WEDDING: A book that is really special to you

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout because the MC, Katy, inspired me to start my first book blog back in 2012.

MOMENT OF TRIUMPH: Longest book you’ve ever read

Probably Inheritance by Christopher Paolini at 849 pages. I can’t think of a longer book right now.

DEATH SCENE: Book or series you wish had ended differently

I wish the epilogue to Harry Potter had been different, I didn’t like how neatly everything was wrapped up.

FUNERAL: Book with the best or worst epilogue

  • Best epilogue

I’ll cheat on this one and choose two : The Song of Achilles, and The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

  • Worst epilogue

Finale by Becca Fiztpatrick, because the entire book is a bad conclusion to an unimpressive series.

END CREDITS: Who do you tag?

Kiwi @ Kiwi Reads

The Orang-Utan Librarian

Lydia @ 22 And Still A Young Adult

Isabella @ Gryffindor Books

Sarah and Faith @ Sublime Reads

Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

And, of course, anyone who wants to join in!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

  1. AW THANKS FOR THE TAG XD We’ve been wanting to do this 😛
    The Series of Unfortunate Events was pretty traumatizing, though 😀 I had nightmares because of those books… but they were so good 😛

    Like

    1. It’s been so long, I dont even remember if they were good or not, I just remember that description of the scientist’s death by snake bite to the face, and how terrifying it sounded to 8yo me. I might revisit the series in the future because everyone and their mothers say it’s definitely worth reading.
      I can’t wait to read your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh you’re reading Clockwork Princess! That book is wonderful — the action, the romance, the characters, everything 🙂 Thanks for the tag!

    Like

    1. I’m currently at p. 200 and LET ME TELL YOU I have to fight off tears whenever the whole Jem-Tessa-Will situation comes up. Why must my babies go through this pain huh???
      Otherwise, it’s fantastic so far, I cant wait to see how the series concludes!
      I cant wait to read your answers 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

