Tags

The Dim Sum Book Tag

dim-sum-book-tag

The Dim Sum Book Tag was created by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna, while I was tagged by Red @ She Latitude. Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats. Personally I don’t think I’ve ever had Dim Sum but it sounds like something I’d, so I’ll definitely be on the lookout for some!

 Here are some rules to devour this tag

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  • Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  • Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  • Food coma

Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold.

 If there’s one way to get me interested in a book it’s to mention dragons. I love dragons and I am willing to forgive a lot of things if the dragon lore is done well. But this was not the case with Firelight by Sophie Jordan. This book is a mess, the MC is extremely frustrating and very forgettable once you finish, she thinks the entire world is against her and risks quite a few of her kin simply to see a sunrise (which she could do in human form, mind you); not to mention the love interest is one of those ‘he was never interested in anyone until you came along’ guys. This review actually does a very good job of summarising my feelings for the book.

Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea.

The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke, the second book in the Assassin’s Curse series, sets its action both on land and in the sea but the reason I chose this book her is because the MCs each embody the two aspects in this question: Ananna has been a pirate her entire life, while Naji is an assassin who’s spent his life on land.

Rice Noodle Roll: A favourite multilayered character you’ve read (i.e. traits? skills? morally ambiguous?).

But I love multilayered characters, especially the morally ambiguous ones! Must I really choose just one? Yes?

If you insist: René Hasard from Sharon Cameron’s Rook; as his name suggests the first impression you get of his personality is random, but there is so much more to him than just the facade he wears.

Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away.

I recently reread The Tail of Emily Windsnap by Liz Kessler and realised the blurb in the english edition pretty much gave the entire story away (I have the greek version, which maintains a bit more of the mystery to the story):

“Emily Windsnap lives on a boat, but her mother has always been oddly anxious to keep her out of the water. It is only when Emily has her first school swimming lesson that she discovers why: as soon as she gets into the water, she grows a tail! Soon Emily discovers a glorious underwater world of fishes, coral, shipwrecks and mermaids, and, best of all, she finds a best friend! With mermaid Shona Silkfin by her side, Emily uncovers a surprising family secret and embarks on a quest to reunite her mum and dad. This enchanting fantasy deals with universal themes of family, friendship, love and justice – all handled with the lightness of touch for which Liz Kessler is so well known”.

Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavour (e.g. message? depth? controversy?).

I have to go with Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for this one because J. K. Rowling manages to pack so many important messages in just 200 pages.

Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions.

Apparently V. E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic. A book can never appeal to everyone, but I was surprised to read the reasons behind the negative opinions; most of the time, these reasons were exactly what I found charming about the book.

Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice: A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged.

I gave Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige to my cousin for christmas and I like to think I did a nice job on the packaging

Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly.

No tag of mine is complete without me mentioning Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles (I promise I will get over my excitement for this book one day, but today is not that day). 

Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination.

The Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare + your comfort food of choice (mine is hot chocolate)

If you’re like me, and you tend to get attached to characters easily, you’ll need something to make you feel better while getting through this book. I’m only 200 pages in and it’s only heartbreaking every other other page.

Fried Sesame Balls: A book cover with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over.

I mainly read ebooks because my mother has this annoying habit of giving away “unused” books (read: books that are not hers) to make space for her own books (I even tried putting my name on them, it didn’t work), so I don’t own that many books in physical format.

However I recently acquired the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare with the new 2015 covers, which are stunning (excuse me while I go run my fingers all over these gorgeous books):

Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around.

Since I read mostly ebooks, they’re all on my phone or pc, otherwise I usually just use a tote to carry books around. I prefer roomy bags anyway so adding a book or two isn’t really a problem.


I tag:

Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much

Percy @ Percy Reads

Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf

Claire @ Art and Soul

Daniela @ Daniela’s Bookshelf

As well as anyone else who wants to join in!

 

10 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. I agree about A Darker Shade of Magic (which I love). I’ve seen a couple of negative reviews and they have amazed me because, as you say, they seem to hate some of the things which I thought were fantastic. Just goes to show how there is no book which everyone will like 🙂
    Thank you very much for tagging me. I’m terrible at doing tags and awards, but it’s so lovely to be nominated and if I do it, I’ll let you know. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think It’s interesting to read the negative reviews for a book I loved because it gives me a new perspective (although reading positive reviews about books I hated usually baffles me 😛 ). Please don’t feel pressured to do this tag on my account!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The new covers are so gorgeous you have no idea how much I want to complete my collection since I have the old cover for the first book but the new covers for the other two. I’ve currently put it on hold because I don’t think it would be the best idea to by a crying sobbing mess while I take my exams

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have all the Shadowhunter books in the old cover and I want all the new editions haha. The new UK editions for TMI are also gorgeous (for now I’ll just stare at the postcards I have of them haha). They need to stop publishing so many gorgeous new editions. My sanity and wallet can’t handle it. No being a crying mess while taking your exam isn’t a good idea! (been there, done that) Good luck! 🙂

        Like

      2. I haven’t read the TMI yet (I will get to that eventually) but I just looked up the new UK covers and I have a mighty need; I like them better than the original US covers actually. All these new gorgeous covers are a terrible idea because my wallet and sanity can’t take it either. The worst part about having to stay away os the fact that it’s sitting right there, on my nightstand, where it’s a constant temptation but I WILL RESIST (mainly because I don’t want a repeat of that one year when I had a poetry exam and the poem reminded me of a heartbeaking moment in a book, so I had to stop myself from sobbing).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, from a marketing point of view, it can draw in new readers and it makes old readers buy more copies so I guess I can see why its done, even if I dont like it. Now if you’ll excuse me I must get back to memorising just how incestuous the British Royal Family was.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

