Memes & Features

TTT: Top Ten Villains

img_0054

Top Ten Tuesdays in a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where, each week, bloggers are invited to create their own top ten lists (if you want to know more about it, you can find out about it here). This week’s topic is a freebie so I decided to go with my favourite villains, because everyone loves a good villain. This list will be a mix of the villains I hate but recognise how amazing they are, the villains I love (often more than one of the MCs), and the ones that scared me when I first read the book.

Let’s begin!

This woman is ruthless, there’s no other word for it, and I love it. She doesn’t have a shred of humanity and will turn on everyone and their mothers if it’ll be to her own personal gain. I can stomach a lot of things but her antics and character managed to make me very uncomfortable.

I’ve only read Game of Thrones but, in the tv series, Cersei Lannister is a master of the political scene she rules. A lot of people hate Cersei Lannister with a burning passion, but I love her because she’s really at the game of thrones (See what I did there? ๐Ÿ˜› ).

Do excuse the strong language, I have a bone to pick with this guy. (Also spoilers for The Reptile Room)

This fucker right here gave me nightmares for months the way he went and killed the scientist in The Reptile Room. As if he wasn’t bad enough with how he treated the kidsย in the first books, he had to go kill the guy in the most horrific way (at least that’s how it felt to 8 year old me).

I’ll be honest, I don’t remember much from the books (and the movie was terrible so I’m not taking that into account) but this scene really stuck with me even after all these years, which is why he’s on this list.

Athos and Astrid Dane are just as ruthless as The Commandant so they hold a special place in my heart.

(Even though I’d probably kill them on sight, don’t get me wrong)

I’m not going to spoil anything for people who haven’t read Seraphina, but Jannoula is an excellent villain and her backstory just make the entire thing more tragic.

When I say ‘fate’, I don’t mean a single character, I mean the general concept of fate because it plays heavily into The Song of Achilles and it’s the only thing that really weighs on the MCs’ hearts.

Imma go cry because of Patrochilles

My rage towards her is too strong for words.

Oh The Darkling… *dreamy sigh*

I love the way the Magister manipulates the band of Shadowhunters in The Clockwork Angel, especially the way he throws them off his scent and uses his spies. I won’t say any more on this subject because I might spoil something but go read the books!

  • Lord Ido from Eon by Alison Goodman

This guy is despicable and I would definitely love to have a go at him but he’s excellent at using his talents to seduce others (even when they’ve witnessed how terrible he is) so I can respect him (it doesn’t hurt that he’s super hot either, mind you).


So that’s a wrap for this week’s TTT! What are some of your favourite villains? If you do participate in this meme, what topic did you choose this week? Leave a link down bellow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Villains

    1. Absolutely, yes; I think the reason everyone hates Dolores is that she’s someone who feels real. I didn’t put Voldemort on this list because he’s not that impressive as a villain to me when Dolores is in the picture.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Cersei is fantastic and doesn’t get nearly enough love, in my opinion. I put umbridge on the list precisely because I despise her so much, she’s the kind of person you can find in the real world so kudos to Queen Rowling for creating her.

      Like

  1. I love this pick for freebie week, I’ll have to remember this for if there’s ever another one! I had so much trouble deciding on something but eventually settled on my favourite fairytale retellings!
    I love A Series of Unfortunate Events, I always though Count Olaf was so terrifying as a child, I don’t remember much from The Reptile Room but the book after, The Wide Window, really freaked me out.
    Great post!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I didn’t even get to The Wide Window because I was so terrified, I might read the books since Netflix is making a series out of it, or I might just watch the series ๐Ÿ˜›
      I was thinking of doing a discussion post on villains but I had no idea where to start so I figured I might as well start small and expand from there, I’m so glad you liked the idea!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it was a brilliant idea, it took me ages to think of my topic for freebie week and I only discovered it because I looked through old topics ๐Ÿ™‚
        A Series of Unfortunate Events was one of my favourite series as a child, I may have to re-read them in the run up to the Netflix show as well because I honestly don’t remember much that actually happened. I do know The Wide Window really freaked me out as a child; I was honestly afraid to go near the sea after I read it because of the leeches.

        Like

Leave a Reply

