Memes & Features

Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

12499049_10205425482178359_2083885077_o

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group! This week’s topic is ‘Disappointing Eye Candy’ aka books with amazing covers that weren’t that great to read.

Let’s Begin!

16120126

The more things change…
Ten years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.
The more things stay the same…
This morning, seventeen-year-old Kyra Locke was late for school.
But that’s not out of the ordinary in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. What is unusual is Kyra’s encounter with two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat, and the other a warning.
Kyra escapes with the aid of young operatives from the Society, who inform her that her scholarly father has disappeared from its headquarters at the Library of Congress and taken a dangerous Egyptian relic with him. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in Kyra’s protests that she knows nothing about it.
Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the help of everyone from a paranoid ex-boyfriend to scary Sumerian gods to operatives whose allegiance is first and always to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to clear her father’s name and recover the missing relic before
the impending summer solstice.
What’s at stake? Just the end of the world as Kyra knows it.
From the author of “Blackwood “comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan…

Look at that cover! And that summary! I was so excited to read this book, you have no idea guys, only to be let down. Not only did most of the gods sidelined (don’t give me a world with ALL the mythologies and then sideline 95% of them), but the ‘Oh-I-didn’t-know-I-loved-her-all-this-time-until-she-told-me-she-loved-me’ trope was in there, you know the one where one character confesses their love and the other one is suddenly hit with the realisation that they’ve been in love this entire time and so both run off into the sunset? Yeah, that was featured quite prominently in this book.

24740629

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification. 
And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe.
 
But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world. 
 
From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.
 

Why you gotta treat mythology terribly??

Just like with The Woken Gods, I was so excited for Reawakened because I LOVE egyptian mythology (I love it so much I might consider giving it a go at uni later on, that’s how much I love it so I’m extra hurt by this book). But no. Lilliana Young alone is enough to make me want to fling this book out of my window on the 4th flour: she’s a very rich girl who strongly believes in girl hate and only wears designer clothes but she’s not a snob (she even says so herself!). Then there’s the Stockholm Syndrome, because who DOESN’T go for falling in love with a guy who can QUITE LITERALLY CONTROL YOUR EVERY ACTION AND DOES SO MORE THAN ONCE. And finally there’s the exoticism and twisting of the original myths. I’m Greek, I live and breathe Greek mythology so I don’t expect foreign authors to immediately get every single myth right (some myths even have completely different versions) BUT I do expect them to get the point of the myth correctly and not twist it to fit their own narrative, which is what Houck did here.

10507293

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

I didn’t go into this book with high expectations, but I was still disappointed. It’s basically The Bachelor as a book set in a dystopian future, which isn’t that appealing to me, with a ridiculous love triangle just thrust into the whole mix just to make things worst. Give me a book on the rebels’ perspective, give me a book on the politics and conflict going on, but don’t give me a book about a whiny teenager who runs and hides from the aforementioned rebels.

18296016

Princess Marie-Victoria, heir to the Lily Throne, and Aelwyn Myrddn, bastard daughter of the Mage of England, grew up together. But who will rule, and who will serve?

Quiet and gentle, Marie has never lived up to the ambitions of her mother, Queen Eleanor the Second, Supreme Ruler of the Franco-British Empire. With the help of her Head Merlin, Emrys, Eleanor has maintained her stranglehold on the world’s only source of magic. She rules the most powerful empire the world has ever seen.

But even with the aid of Emrys’ magic, Eleanor’s extended lifespan is nearing its end. The princess must marry and produce an heir or the Empire will be vulnerable to its greatest enemy, Prussia. The two kingdoms must unite to end the war, and the only solution is a match between Marie and Prince Leopold VII, heir to the Prussian throne. But Marie has always loved Gill, her childhood friend and soldier of the Queen’s Guard.

Together, Marie and Aelwyn, a powerful magician in her own right, come up with a plan. Aelwyn will take on Marie’s face, allowing the princess to escape with Gill and live the quiet life she’s always wanted. And Aelwyn will get what she’s always dreamed of–the chance to rule. But the court intrigue and hunger for power in Lenoran England run deeper than anyone could imagine. In the end, there is only rule that matters in Eleanor’s court: trust no one.

This book was a mess. It started out so well: interesting premise, multiple POVs, some fantastic characters, great world (the English won the Hundred Years War and magic exists). But I was quickly disappointed by it since the a few of the characters didn’t feel necessary, and the end of the book was an absolute mess.

6448470

A hidden truth.
Mortal enemies.
Doomed love.

Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki, a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away;if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

Special-Snowflake Jacinda endangers her entire race to feel the sun on her wings. I think I’ve said enough.


So that concludes another T5W! Have you read any of these books? What books were your disappointing eye candy?

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

  1. I have read The Tiger’s Curse, by Colleen Houck, and it was awful! The main character, a girl whose name I don’t even remember, is such a brat! And then there’s a stupid love triangle growing that doesn’t make any sense! Also, I think the author didn’t even search about Indian mythology, or culture in geral. So, yes, I’m not going to read that new book.
    Also, I don’t know if you have read The Tiger’s Curse, but when I read The Reawakened’s synopsis, it felt like the same plot all over again, except that, this time, the main character is rich and it’s (kind of) about Egyptian mythology.
    The thing is, this author should stop writing books about any kind of mythology. It feels like she doesn’t even research decently and then the story is always a crappy love story!
    I really don’t understand why many people love her books; after all, she doesn’t even understand mythology and her writing is bad. Of course that it’s fiction and people may say that she doesn’t have to be right about everything, but my God, we are talking about culture! A writer should be careful with the information they use to write a book! I think she only uses mythology for an excuse, you know, so that she can have a reason to say that “yay, the main female character, who is annoying by the way, is actually The Chosen One! Here you have a white girl saving POC people that have nothing to do with her. Also, I only use mythology so that I can write a stupid love story that makes no sense at all.”

    Sorry about this “long” comment, but I just wanted to share this. After all, I also love mythology and it’s sad when writers think that they can use it like a way to try to have interesting books. I hope Colleen Houck never writes about Greek Mythology. Please, Zeus, don’t let this happen… :p

    Like

    1. Don’t apologise, I love discussing different aspects of books! I’ve read the first two books of Colleen Houck’s Tiger Saga and I found them somewhat decent at the time (I have very low standards when it comes to books, unfortunately) but I am in no way familiar with Indian mythology and I’ve been informed she pretty much screwed that aspect over too. I didn’t notice the similarities between the Reawakened and her previous books at first because I hadn’t read a Colleen Houck book in years, but now that I think of it she pretty much recycled about 70% of her plot, and she didn’t even do it well. If she touches Greek Mythology I’m going to actually buy a physical copy of the book instead of an ebook, light it up, and dance around the fire because Greek mythology is literally the easiest thing to google and learn about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s