Memes & Features

Book Travelling Thursday

img_0072

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme created by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. The goal is to share the covers of a book related to that week’s theme, which you can check out in the Goodreads group, indicating the original cover, the one of your country, your favourite and least favourite. This week’s theme is ‘Choose a book you want to re-read in 2016’, which was hard for me to narrow down because I like rereading books, especially if they have sequels coming out.

After much deliberation (I basically spent an hour staring at my ‘read’ list on Goodreads) I decided to go with An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Original Cover

22529162

This is the cover for the US Kindle edition, and also the one I own. I think it’s a fantastic cover, full of little details that I missed at first (I’m only now starting to pay closer attention to book covers, I didn’t before), while the colours are rather fitting since they appear rather harsh even though gold is often considered to be a colour that brings hope.

Cover From My Country (Switzerland)

1083653_f

As it turns out, this book hasn’t been translated into Greek yet so I can only show you guys the Swiss cover. This cover is very similar to the original one except the entire thing is a tad darker, which brings out the gold in the title a lot more.

Favourite Cover

22529162

My favourite cover is the original US edition because of how hard it is on the eyes. The colours, font, contrast, and sharpness of the elements in the cover make it really hard for me to look at it over a long period of time and I eel that reflects the story quite well.

However the Swedish (left) and Polish (right) covers also deserve a special shout-out for being absolutely gorgeous:

Least Favourite Covers

  • I don’t feel like the Czech cover reflects the story well, while the landscape seems harsh, this doesn’t say fantasy to me, but rather a survival tale based loosely on a true story.
  • The German cover would’ve been my favourite except the title’s been altered to include ‘Elias & Laia’ which makes it seem like a romance, when it’s really not (at least not yet, I can’t wait for my ship to sail), so I don’t think this one is true to the story either.
  • When I first saw the Romanian cover I legitimately thought ‘why is there an Aztec-looking symbol on the cover, this is inspired by the Roman Empire’ and later realised that is was in fact an amphitheater so that confused me a bit, also the title translates to ‘Elias and the Scholar Spy’ (accordng to Google Translate, please correct me if I’m wrong) which again I don’t think fits the story as much as ‘An Ember in the Ashes’

So that concludes another BTT! What’s a book you’ll be rereading in 2016?

10 thoughts on “Book Travelling Thursday

      1. I guess that’s all we can hope for… I don’t mind love triangles where two characters only have eyes for each other but a third is also in love with one of the two, its the one with the main character in love with two people I can’t stand because it’s usually very obvious how they’ll end uo, so why put them through the trouble??

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

