Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | January 2016

I can’t believe January flew by so quickly but I’m also a bit glad because that means my exams are finally over (I passed at least one of them for sure, yay me!). I picked up a lot of new things in January so let’s get to it.

Books

I read a total of 8 books this month, which is not as much as I would’ve liked but it’s still a good amount (according to goodreads I’m a book ahead of my schedule, yay me!):

  • The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: This was a solid start to the trilogy, the characters are vibrant and the story was solid enough. I felt like Tess, Jem, and Will were a tad underdeveloped compared to the second book but I apprecited the focus being on the plot rather than the romance. I’ll be reviewing the entire trilogy as one so I haven’t gotten around to a review just yet.
  • A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn: This was pitched to Seraphina fans but it definitely did not live up to that. This was a book about the main character finding her place in her world, where dragons were rendered virtually unnecessary (how can you even begin to make dragons unnecessary when your protagonist is a HALF-DRAGON??) so I didn’t enjoy reading this book. If you want to know more about it, you can check out my review of it here.
  • The Map by William Ritter: This is a short story that takes place in the Jackaby universe between books 1 and 2, about Jackaby’s birthday gift to Abigail. It was a fun read, very quick, and everything I expected from a short Jackaby story. I highly recommend it to any fans out there for reason underlined in my short review.
  • The Tail of Emily Windsnap by Liz Kessler: I enjoyed these books when I was younger and, when I found out there were 2 more books to the series that I hadn’t read, I decided to reread all of them. I can’t say I enjoyed the story as much as I did the first time but it was definitely a fun way to spend a plane ride and I think it would appeal to younger audiences out there because the characters are very realistic while the story doesn’t drag at any point. Check out my review of it.
  • Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep by Liz Kessler: I liked this second book a bit more than the first one because we actually see a bit of character growth in Emily, but it was the new characters that really pulled me into the story. Like the first book, it was very fast paced and a fun afternoon read.
  • Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist by Liz Kissler: While this book would be perfect for its target audience, I didn’t like it as much as the other two. I felt it was weak and the incredibly fast pace of the story made the romance aspect very insta-lovey (which I don’t have an issue with usually, but this time it left me feeling unsatisfied with the whole thing), however I liked how the entire thing ended.
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell: SnowBaz is perf and I will fight you on this.

Challenges

I’m participating in 4 challenges this year (if you want to know more on each, check out this post)

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge
  • The Series Challenge
  • the New Releases Challenge
  • the Commenting 365 Challenge

So far, I’ve managed to keep up with The Goodreads Challenge with the 8 books I’ve read, the Series challenge with The Infernal Devices and the Emily Windsnap series, and the Commenting 365 Challenge (tbh I’m impressed by myself, I didn’t actually expect to have a successful first month), so I’m feeling pretty good about the whole thing. I wish I’d started on the New Releases Challenge but I haven’t gotten around to reading Truthwitch yet!

Tv series

I’m a massive tv series fan, to the point where a number of my friends and my dad worry about how many I watch every week, and how many I’ve watched in general but a lot of the tv series I watch serve as background noise, because I hate working in silence (I don’t know if anyone else gets this, I can see why it would be weird). January was a fantastic month for tv series, both because of the new releases and the ones returning from mid-season hiatus:

New Releases: 

  • Angel From Hell: This is a fun comedy that just premiered a few weeks ago where a woman befriends her guardian angel, only we’re not completely sure of that because the angel is rather unorthodox in her methods of bringing about the happiness of her charge. I thought the trailer was interesting enough and the first few episodes didn’t disappoint but it’s not a series I’ll be giving my full attention to, rather something I’ll be watching if I have the time and run out of other things to do.
  • DC’s Legends of Tomorrow: I am a sucker for superhero series (except Arrow, I just can’t be bothered to get through 2 seasons of it) so this one was definitely on my radar. The first episode started out very well, but the second episode let me down a tiny bit because some of the acting was clunky. I hope that changes because I love this ensemble of characters and I can’t wait to see them in action.
  • Lucifer: Where do I even begin with my love for this series? I’m not usually one to get hooked on a crime series but this one is perfect (I might be biased though, given the fact that Lucifer is hot, and sweet, and charming, and amazing, and I’ll stop now before I dissolve into a puddle of gooeyness).
  • Second Chance: Yet another crime series, this one is a reimagining of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, set in modern times with a Sheriff who is hell bent on protecting his city. I’m enjoying this so far, the main character is hilarious and I love the way he goes about being brought back from the dead, not to mention I find it very interesting to see the different POVs when it comes to the ‘monster’ since, on the one hand, he’s viewed as a person, while, on the other, he’s just an experiment that really shouldn’t be allowed to roam free.
  • The Magicians: A series about magic existing in the real world with a graduate school (that’s a master’s school for all of us non-americans) in upstate New York, what more could a HP fan ask for? I’ve been told this series is based off a book however I haven’t read it so I wouldn’t be able to talk about the differences and similarities between both, but so far I really like the light and dark aspects, and the side characters are my precious babies that need to be protected.
  • The Shannara Chronicles: Another series based on a book, this one is about the different species in a magical and post apocalyptic land coming together to battle a force of darkness. It’s classical high fantasy (even though the post-apocalyptic setting is very interesting) with elves, humans, magic, and all that stuff, but I was wary because this is an Mtv series. So far, I’ve enjoyed episodes and I plan on watching the entirety of the season but I do wish they would stop killing everyone.
  • Shadowhunters: Ahh the much anticipated Shadowhunters series. I have to say, I’m slightly disappointed by how indifferent I feel towards the whole thing. I’m a fan of the books and the movie was actually good up in the first half so I’ll be sticking around for this one, but if I were introduced to the concept through the series, I don’t think I’d stick around.

Returning series: 

  • Elementary: I know many people don’t like Elementary but I love it, it’s the Female!Watson AU I never knew I needed.
  • Galavant: Do you like musicals? Do you like medieval drama? If yes then you should go watch Galavant immediately. It’s a fantastic premise, which was turned into an even more fantastic show. You can’t imagine how delighted I was when I found out it was being renewed for a second season and I’m dearly hoping for a third. How can you NOT love a series that opens up its second season with songs like this:

(Imma be real, I would also rip Galavant’s shirt off if I had the chance)

  • Marvel’s Agent Carter: I was so pumped for the new season of Agent Carter and so far it isn’t disappointing; I am absolutely in love with Peggy and I will fight you if you hurt her.
  • Supergirl: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, if I could marry one fictional character it would be Supergirl.
  • The 100: The 100 is one of my favourite shows and season 3 just began with two episodes that were a rollercoaster of emotions. I can’t wait to see where the season goes, and particularly how the characters grow because they all look like they’re near breaking point so it’s gonna be so good. THE BELLARKE IS REAL PEOPLE.

 

So that’s all for January, hopefully I’ll have a more productive February (reading wise, I don’t think it would be a good idea to pick up any more shows at the moment) especially where the New Releases challenge is concerned.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | January 2016

    1. So far Lucifer is the best new show this season, in my opinion. It’s definitely worth checking out, if only to see the devil play a main character in a crime series (that is not a phrase I ever expected to say).

      Like

Leave a Reply

