Tags

The Book Sacrifice Tag

This book tag was created by Ariel Bissett over on BookTube and I’ve seen a lot of booktubers do it so I was delighted when Bri @ Paperback Bri tagged me to do this!

1 // An Over-Hyped book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

Is there really any other than Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James?

10818853

2 // A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

I was unimpressed by The Selection and I was even further disappointed by The Elite by Kiera Cass, so I’d definitely use this book as an umbrella (hopefully it’s large enough).

14748094.jpg

3 // A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionised literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What classic did you chuck?

Whenever I think of The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, I have this latent urge to gouge something out because it is So. Incredibly. Boring.  In fact, if a friend of mine hadn’t needed my book, I probably would’ve ended up murdering it in some fashion, particularly because of the essays I had to read based on the content of this book.

786930

4 // Your least favourite book of life!: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

One book isn’t nearly enough to sustain a fire, and I have a lot of books I wouldn’t mind seeing going up in flames:

  • New Moon by Stephenie Meyer because this was 300+ pages of Bella whining
  • Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer for So. Many. Things.
  • Firelight by Sophie Jordan because the MC (I think her name is Jacinda?) endangers her entire species to feel the sun on her wings.
  • Matched by Allie Condie because the MC (I don’t even remember her name) is also a whiny little shit.
  • Manon Lescaut by Abbé Prevost  for being the single most frustrating and annoying book I have ever read. I would relish in this being on fire.
  • The Collector by Victoria Scott because Dante Walker is one of the most arrogant and inconsiderate characters I’ve ever had the displeasure of reading. He spends about 90% of the book making a girl feel like absolute shit over how she looks (great message you’re sending there).

I have no idea who’s done this tag before so I’m not going to tag anyone but if you want, please go ahead and do it!

6 thoughts on “The Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. These are excellent choices! I see you also picked 50 Shades- great choice- that book deserves to be sacrificed a million different ways. Elite was rubbish- and I agree it was even worse than the Selection. I’ve not read a lot of these, but I *hated* Firelight and Matched and Breaking Dawn obviously :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Personally, Breaking Dawn is the one book I want to sacrifice a million different ways because, when I’ve read it more than 5 times so I can’t forget the plot (I don’t remember the plots to most of the other books and it’s better that way).
      I also want to sacrifice past me… Or, at the very least, sit her down and explain why The Twilight series is terrible.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

