Bookish musings

Fanboy Book Club: An Introduction

Card

*I couldn’t figure out how to insert a picture in Paint that didn’t make me look like a pixelated video game character, so I’ll just add one here:

Snapshot_20151121 (2)
Ah that webcam quality…

 

So I decided to join the FBCYA (Fanboy Book Club for Young Adult)which was created by Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl, because I’m a sucker for a good male main character, and each member is encouraged to formally introduce themselves through a series of questions. So here we go!

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I feel so awkward answering this question because I never know what to say. I’m Brigitte, a 19yo student of English and Prehistoric Archaeology (if you think the double major is impressive, I assure you, it’s not, that’s how the BA is done in Switzerland), with a burning passion for reading.

How did you come up with your blog name?

Last year I took a course on bioanthropology and I became slightly obsessed with bones, which then prompted the nickname ‘bonologist’, so I was playing around with a few names until I came up with ‘The Book and the Bone’. I did have several others that I was partial to but that’s the one that really stuck with me so I’m delighted no one else had already used it.

Now for the fun part

Who is your favorite male character?

I love all my precious babies equally, making me choose is just unfair to them, but a few honourable mentions are:

  • Percy Jackson from the Rick Riordan books
  • Harry Potter from the Harry Potter series
  • Prince Rhy from the Shades of Magic series
  • Patroclus from The Song of Achilles
  • Baz from Carry On
  • Mark Watney from The Martian

Imma just go ahead and stop there because I promise you, I could go on for hours.

Who are your book husbands/book boyfriends?

I don’t really have any? The concept is fairly new to me, I’ve never really shipped myself with a fictional character (the ramblings of 13 year old me over Edward Cullen definitely do not count) because I prefer to ship fictional characters with each other but if I had to choose at the moment I’d say Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab, Jem from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, and Jackaby from Jackaby by William Ritter (although I don’t know how that last one would fare in a romantic relationship, that would be fun to discover)

 

Book with a male lead that really stuck to your heart?

Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles which still reduces me to a puddle of tears, months later, if I think about it for too long. The writing is fantastic, the story gripped me and never really let me go, and the characters feel incredibly real; I really recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about Ancient Greek settings.

Link to your social media accounts.


 

This month’s read is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (because we’re starting light and it also gives me a reason to reread it, not that I needed one), which is pretty much what initially attracted me to the club, if you want to know more about it, you can check out this post right here, which contains the sign up sheet to the club (also found here along with a very general introduction to the whole thing), and then there’s the group on Goodreads.

Thanks for reading and I encourage you to join if you love bookish male leads!

2 thoughts on “Fanboy Book Club: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

