Bookish musings

Rip it Or Ship it

I wasn’t originally planning to do anything Valentine-related but I binged watched a number of ‘Rip it or Ship it’ videos yesterday so I figured why not? I did my best to chose a wide variety of characters, and ended up with some hilarious pairings. So let’s begin:

My 30 original characters:

1// Patroclus (The Song of Achilles) and Kell (A Darker Shade of Magic)

While these two would probably be great friends, I don’t think they wouldbe happy with each other in a romantic relationship.

(Of course I might be biased because Patrochilles is my ultimate OTP and I will fight anyone who tries to hurt my precious bbies)

2// Annabeth Chase (Heroes Of Olympus series) and Achilles (The Song of Achilles)

It hurts me to break up Percabeth and Patrochilles BUT I think Annabeth and Achilles would be a fantastic couple, especially if Annabeth found herself in Ancient Greece or Achilles somehow ended up in our times.

3// Seraphina Dombegh (Seraphina) and Gwen Frost (Mythos Academy series)

I’m not entirely convinced about this pairing but I think it would work because opposites attract, right?

4// Darrow (Red Rising trilogy) and Magnus Bane (The Mortal Instruments)

I would laugh my ass off if Magnus were to hit on Darrow (obviously Darrow wouldn’t be the one wooing Magnus, let’s be real).  Could you imagine them actually being a couple? That would be absolutely hilarious!

5// Simon Snow (Carry On) and Harry Potter (Harry Potter series)

Harry pretty much dating a version of himself? That’s too weird,even for me.

6// Percy Jackson (Heroes of Olympus) and Draco Malfoy (the Harry Potter series)

This would be fantastic. I’d love to have Draco and Percy in a room, they’d either end up making out (we all know Draco has a weakness for dark hair and green eyes) and killing each other.

(Can someone write a fic about this because I WOULD READ IT)

7// Jackaby (Jackaby) and Glisselda (Seraphina)

While this might work, it either crumble fairly quickly or they’d just drift apart, and they both deserve better. They’d be fantastic as friends thought.

8// Katy Schwartz (the Lux series) Mark Watney (The Martian)

Yes, yes, yes, a thousand times yes! I think they would be fantastic together (provided they’re around the same age, I don’t ship it with the current age difference). Can you image the sass? *heart eyes*

9// Enoby Dark’ness Dementia Raven Way (My Immortal) and Sydney Sage (Bloodlines)

Fear of vampires or not, Sydney would probably stab Ebony minutes after meeting her just to shut her up.

10// Christian Grey (Fifty Shades of Grey) and Zoey Redbird (House of Night)

[ATTENTION SPOILERS FOR CHOSEN (HOUSE OF NIGHT #3) BELLOW]

Just going off Chosen, Christian would probably flip if he knew Zoey wasn’t exclusive, and Zoey would probably dump his arrogant abusive ass after putting him in his place.

11// Sherlock Holmes (Young Sherlock Holmes) and Thomas (The Maze Runner series)

They’re both inquisitive and rush headfirst into whatever they’re doing, so they would certainly getting along very well. Although I’m not sure how long it would last before one of them inevitably got hurt while being impulsive.

12// Baz (Carry On) and Alina Starkov (The Grisha Trilogy)

I’ll be honest, when I chose Baz and The Darkling to be part of this, I sort of hoped I would get them together but alas, fate was not on my side it seems. I don’t think Alina and Baz would even get along as acquaintances, much less be while in a relationship.

13// Hamlet (Hamlet) and Henry/Hades (The Goddess Test)

I ship this purely because Hamlet would try and take advantage of Henry’s powers while Hades would probably end up killing Hamlet to stop his whining.

14// The Darkling (The Grisha trilogy)and Edward Cullen (Twilight)

This would be absolutely hysterical. Can you imagine The Darkling having to put up with Edward’s constant moping?

‘I’m a monster’

‘Welcome to the club, I ripped a country in two’

‘I could hurt you’

‘What hurts me is that you honestly believe that’

15//Will Herondale (The Infernal Devices) and Safiya von Hasstrel (Truthwitch)

Just imagine the sass.


So that concludes my Valentine’s Day post. Now excuse me while I enjoy some chocolate cake while crying over Drarry (yes, I’m an unapologetic shipper and I will fight you over this).

What do you think of these pairings? WHat’s the most outrageous pairing you’ve ever come across?

 

10 thoughts on “Rip it Or Ship it

  1. Patrochilles is the BOMB of OTPS. I recently finished it and spent this weekend crying and thinking about what went wrong. ❤ 😥

    And your 14th one DESTROYED ME. XD Like I can't even type rn cuz I've spent the last five minutes laughing my ass off. Someone needs to make it happen!

    I so want to do this now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

