Tags

Disney Book Tag

It’s time for another book tag! I was tagged for this by the lovely Gabby @ Gabby The Dauntless Warlock and I’m very excited for this because it combines Disney movies and books!


[If you click on the images, you’ll be taken to the pages of the lovely artists behind the illustrations!]


The Little Mermaid: a character who is out of their element, a fish out of water.


When Syndey Sage is first introduced in Blood Promise by Richelle Mead, she’s obviously uncomfortable being around vampires but it isn’t until Bloodlines that she’s thrust into a situation over which she has no control, and ends up freaking out a few times.

Cinderella: a character who goes through a major transformation. 

Eragon from Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle goes through an incredible transformation over the course of the books which I thought was very well done because his emotional transformation is reflected in the physical transformation he undergoes.

Snow White: a book with an eclectic cast of characters.

 

I was torn between Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On and Rachel Hartman’s Shadow Scale but I ultimately went with Shadow Scale because of the amount of diverse characters in it (the dragons probably helped too).

Sleeping Beauty: a book that put you to sleep.

 

I had to read The Scarlet Letter for uni last year and, while it’s beautifully written, it has one of the single most boring plots I’ve ever read, which is why I actually did fall asleep the first time ’round (I didn’t stay asleep for long though because my iPod fell on my face and woke me up, this didn’t increase my opinion of the book).

The Lion King: a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood. 

 This question is making me reevaluate my reading choices because there’s an incredible amount of characters I could choose from. The first character that comes to mind is Nathan from Sally Green’s Half Bad because I just couldn’t get past the first 30 pages  (and I have a fairly high tolerance for brutality) but, since I didn’t finish that book, I’m also choosing Jem Carstairs from Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy because he is my precious baby and must be protected.

Beauty and the Beast: a beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by but found the story to be beautiful. 

I remember having gone shopping the day after Inheritance by Christopher Paolini came out and when I saw it, I approached it as if it were an interesting but dangerous creature because it was so thick; at some point I picked it up to see how heavy it was and one of the employees saw my expression and chuckled. The length alone kind of put me off it for a few months but I loved it when I finally mustered up the strength to read it.

(When I say ‘loved’ I mean I loved everything but the way my ship turned out. While I understand why it was necessary in the end, I am not at all happy about it, they deserved to be happy!)

Aladdin: a character that gets their wish granted, for better or worse. 

 

 

The genie’s expression is exactly what mine looked like while I was trying to choose just one character for this. After much deliberation, I am going with Keshan from Astrid Amara’s The Archer’s Heart because this book isn’t talked about nearly enough and definitely deserves ALL the love.

 Mulan: a character who pretends to be something or someone they’re not. 

 

Honestly there’s no better character for this than Eona from Alison Goodman’s Eon duology. I think Mulan would definitely be her role model through her journey to be a Dragoneye.

Disney descendants: your favourite villain or morally ambiguous Descendants-1.jpg

Lila Bard from V. E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic has quickly become my favourite morally ambiguous character in the last few weeks.

Toy Story: a book with characters you wish would come to ToyStory-Poster

So. Many. Characters. To. Choose. From.

Stop making me choose between my precious babies!

*24h later*

I’d definitely love to be able to talk to Mark Watney from Andy Weir’s The Martian, simply because he’s so incredibly optimistic about his situation when he ends up stuck on Mars. I consider myself an optimist but I don’t think I’d be able to go through what he did and still be sane (Especially if I ran out of books to read, omg can you imagine??)


I tag everyone! If you want to do this, go ahead and consider yourself tagged!

10 thoughts on “Disney Book Tag

    1. The Eon duology is one of my favourite series, mainly because Eona is so badass. I’m glad you like them, tbh I just searched tumblr for most of them (I only knew of AliceXZ before for the amazing Sherlock and Doctor Who art).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

