Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up |February 2016

Hey there! It’s time for another Monthly Wrap Up since February is over (time seems to fly by really fast lately, I hope it’s not just me…)!

Books I read

Remember when I said I’d read 9 books this month? Well I was starting to think I wouldn’t be able to actually achieve that goal so I was very surprised when I was proven wrong!

  • The Martian by Andy Weir: I enjoyed the Martian immensely, so much so that Mark Watney has officially become one of my precious babies, but the science was a bit too much for me (not to say I didn’t appreciate the effort that went into it) at times and I found myself skimming through long paragraphs of explanations.
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Scwab: I am utterly in love with this book and everything about it; in fact I think my best friend is sick of hearing me gush over it at this point. This was a reread for me, but I liked it even better this time around!
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling: I read this book as part of the Fanboy Book Club and I actually ended up liking the book even more because I noticed new things about it (you can read my review of it here if you want)
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard: Oh my, everything about this book was perfect down to the very slow burn romance between one of my ships (I refuse to consider any other possibility, Aeduan and Iseult are totally baes)
  • Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers: This book was disappointing in every aspect…
  • The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman: The part of me that’s and English major and a history nerd praises this book to the high heavens because it is So. Incredibly. Accurate. in the aspect (even down to the writing, I thought I was reading Jane Austen a couple times) and, because of that, I found this book to be very slow, the action only picks up in the last 30% and the descriptions of everything are so tedious after the first 100 pages.
  • Riders by Veronica Rossi: I honestly didn’t know what to expect from Riders but it wasn’t what I got. The book was incredibly fast paced, well written, and, all in all, very good in my opinion. I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel!
  • Harry Plotter and the Chamber of Serpents by M. J. Ware: I don’t even know how I found this book but I’m very glad I did because I enjoyed having a clueless american questioning everything about the story.
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton: I’m conflicted when it comes to this book because the premise, the world, and the characters were all fantastic but the writing felt like it was trying too hard so it got clunky at times while it flowed at others. That’s not to say I won’t pick up the sequel, it’s a very fun story and ideal for anyone who likes westerns.

Unfortunately I didn’t read all the books on my February TBR: I haven’t finished the Clockwork Princess yet, while I never got around to reading City of Bones or The Abyss Surrounds Us but they’re definitely a priority for March!


 

Challenges I’m currently doing

I’ll admit, I kind focused more on the Goodreads and New releases challenges, and put the others aside this month:

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: According to the counter, I’m FIVE books ahead of schedule! I’ll use that wisely to catch up on reviews.
  • The Series Challenge: No progress there (although I’m 30 pages away from finishing A Gathering of Shadows, does that count?)
  • The New Releases Challenge: Five of the books I read this months were new releases (Riders, Truthwitch, The Dark Days Club, Assassin’s Heart, and Rebel of the Sands) so I’ve achieved the title of ‘New Release Newbie’ (yay me!)
  • The Commenting 365 Challenge: I was so glad to be on top of this last month, that I slipped… I’m 10 comments behind but I will catch up soon!

 

TV series I spent time on

(Quite a few of my friends would say I didn’t ‘spend’ time on tv series, but rather ‘wasted’ it, but who listens to them anyways)

Newly Discovered

  • Black Sails: Black Sails is a prequel series to The Treasure Island, which follows Captain James Flint on his adventures as a feared pirate in the New World. This show guys, this show… To put it plain and simple, this show broke me (actually one of the ships broke me but the show is fantastic in itself) and you should all go watch it because I need to share this pain ok??

(I’m not even joking, I can’t read through Shakespeare’s Sonnets because they remind me of that ship, which is a problem because I have to study them in depth this semester. Here’s to hoping I don’t start sobbing in class…)

  • The Man in the High Castle: This series shows the world, more specifically the US, as it would have been had the Nazis and Japanese won WWII. I only started watching this one last night but, holy shit, it is powerful. I’ve never been particularly patriotic (in fact I tend to scoff at pure patriotism) but watching this alternate reality gave me the chills.

Also it has the ‘enemy spy infiltrates resistance and then doubts everything he’s fighting for because he falls for a resistance spy’ trope which I love to bits.

New Releases

  • The Night Manager: The Night Manager follows the story of Jonathan Pine, a night manager at several hotels, as he turns spy and infiltrates a dangerous arms dealer’s inner circle. I am unashamed to admit I came for Tom Hiddleston, but I did stay for the story.

Returning Series

  • Sleepy Hollow: The second half of the season picked up strong, even if Abby’s escpae felt a bit too much like a ‘Deus Ex Machina’ kind of situation for my taste, but I do have one question: WHEN IS MY ABBY/CRANE SHIP GOING TO SAIL ALREADY??
  • Grimm: I’m a bit confused with the who Juliette/Eve narrative so far and I do think the show is getting a bit stagnant but I hope the buried treasure narrative will revive it. I’m glad they brought it back because I’ve always been curious as to what that whole subplot was about.
  • Gotham: I tend to be an on-again-off-again fan of Gotham but I am curious to see where the show is going to go after the mid-season finale last year.
  • Blindspot: It’s finally back!

I remember when I said I wouldn’t pick up any new series in February because I’m watching too many…Oops?


So that was my February wrap up! I’m very satisfied I read 9 books this month, although I’ll be aiming lower from now on because classes started and I am already overwhelmed by the sheer amount of reading I have to do…

 

7 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up |February 2016

    1. Well I only started uni last week so I actually had a lot of free time until then. I don’t expect to keep it up after February.
      I’m glad you like it! The story just gets keeps getting better the more you read!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, you read a lot of great books this month. I still have to read quite a few books from your read list and I’m really existed for them specially Truthwitch and Rebel of the Sands!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truthwitch was fantastic, I cannot recommend it enough, and I liked Rebel of the Sands too (I wasn’t even planning on reading it this month, I just found it at the bookstore the other day and figured I might as well go for it) even though I feel like the author was trying too hard to make her writing stand out. That’s really the only complaint I have, everything else was perfect. I hope you like the books as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely and utterly agree with you about Truthwitch, Assasin’s Heart, and Dark Days Club. It’s like you read me mind!
    Ayaaaaaaaaaaa I can’t wait for the second Truthwitch book so I can verify the only ship worth shipping XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

