Memes & Features

Top 5 Wednesday: Worst Book Hangovers

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group! This week’s topic is ‘Worst Book Hangovers’ aka books that tore out my heart, stomped on it a few times, and then proceeded to let me pick up the pieces.

Let’s Begin!

5// The Fault in our Stars by John Green

11870085

So my best friend (along with the internet) pushed me to read TFioS and I decided that, since she was quite a bit ahead of me at the time, I would just read up to that point and then stop. I didn’t stop, in fact I read the entire book in a single sitting on a Monday night with school the next day and then proceeded to mope for about a fortnight.

4// The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

I haven’t finished the infernal devices yet and they didn’t, technically speaking, give me a book hangover but whenever I think of how unfair Jem’s or Will’s life has been, I just want to steal them away from all that hurt and protect my precious babies.

WAS IT REALLY NECESSARY TO HURT THEM LIKE THIS?!

3// The Archer’s Heart by Astrid Amara

13004378

This book struck very close to home for me where Tarek was concerned and I had to fight back tears several times at a few family gatherings.

Note to self: don’t read stuff like this around people.

2// Books 5, 6, and 7 of the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling 

‘Nuff said.

1// The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

13537029

This book felt like someone grabbed my heart inside my chest, twisted it, ripped it out, and then set it on fire while gleefully dancing around it. I’ve never been more hurt by a single book before TSoA and that’s why it gets the #1 spot today.

Special shout out to:

  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant_DemiJacket_WetProofTest.indd

The ending was so unexpected I burst into tears and then had to explain my state to my family because my sister decided that was the perfect time to barge into my room. I am still deeply in denial about that ending.

49041

I cried when Edward decided to dump Bella, I cried a lot.

This is not something I am proud of.

24934065.jpg

Was that one thing that happened to that one character necessary? No but was it really???

[ATTENTION SPOILERS FOR REBEL OF THE SANDS]

[SERIOUSLY STOP READING NOW]

[Don’t come running to me about spoilers if you keep reading]

BAHI DESERVED A LONG AND HAPPY LIFE DAMN IT.

[Okay that was it]

[Crisis averted]

[You can keep reading after this, I promise]


 

What are some books that decided to use your heart as a stomping ground?

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Worst Book Hangovers

    1. I’m even less proud of the fact that I haven’t only cried once over that book, but multiple times… then again, the series did get me into reading so I’ll give it that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

