Tags

The Secret Life of a Book Blogger |Tag

I’ve seen this tag floating around for a while now and I’ve been wanting to get in on it so I was delighted when Bri @ Paperback Bri tagged me for this! Thank you so much!


 

How long have you been a blogger?

I only started in December of 2015 so I’m almost at 3 months.

At what point do you think you will stop?

I don’t even know what I’ll be doing tomorrow, much less when I’ll stop! In all honesty, I have no idea, I had a blog before and that lasted about a year before I got overwhelmed and quit but I do hope this one lasts longer.

(feel free to berate me if I’m strangely silent for a week. I’m absolutely serious)

What is the best thing?

The people, no doubt about it. I’ve never had friends who shared my specific interests in books (when my best friend and I both like the same book, it’s an occasion to celebrate) so having people to talk to about them is fantastic! Not to mention, everyone is incredibly warm and welcoming, I never expected this and I was (and still am) incredibly happy by how I was received.

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

Sometimes I feel as if I don’t really contribute anything when I make a certain post.I get this especially when it comes to reviews because I read a few of them for a specific and then I think ‘well, I’m not really adding anything so what’s the point?’. Whenever that happens, it usually results in me completely changing the focus point of my review in order to use something else. When I can’t come up with something myself, I get my best friend involved, and it usually works out.

How long does it take to find/create pictures to use?

I think the most I’ve spent on a picture was 30m? I use Font Candy and Aviary to edit pics so the whole process is pretty quick.

Who’s your book crush?

Why must you make me choose, you heartless person??

At the moment I am in love with Prince Rhy from V. E. Schwab’s A Gathering of Shadows, and Lila Bard, and Kell, and Alucard Emery, and I should probably stop now because this is getting out of hand…

What author would you like to have on your blog?

It would make my entire year to have V. E. Schwab or Madeline Miller because both their books are incredible.

(If I got both though, I would never shut up about it)

What do you wear when you write your blog?

I don’t have a specific time-slot carved out for blogging every day so I blog wearing all sorts of outfits (it’s usually lounge clothes though, which is just a fancy name for what I call day-pyjamas. Yes, I am in fact one of those people who will change out of one set of pyjamas into another and call it productive)

How long does it take you to prepare?

Depending on the post, it can take my anywhere from 30m to hours. On average I’d say I spend a little more than an hour on anything most posts, but I tend to dwell on my reviews so those usually take around 3 hours.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

It’s one of the warmest communities I’ve come across (Tumblr’s got nothing on you guys, I’m dead serious) and I love everything about it. I’m vaguely aware there are problems but I haven’t run into any so far! ❤

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

The most important aspect to blogging, I think, is to make sure it never becomes a burden because it all goes downhill from there; just make sure you’re doing things you like. Engaging with the community is also a must, as is being original.

Who do you tag?

Beth @ Reading Every Night

Kellie @ Book Delights

Calliope @ Calliope The Book Goddess

Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny

The Bibliothèque

[Feel free to ignore this tag if you don’t feel like doing it]
14 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger |Tag

    1. I really look forward to reading your answers then! Honestly I’ve been on tumblr for 2 years now and it’s not nearly the same experience, I was actually expecting that at first. I was incredibly surprised and pleased when that wasn’t the case! 💜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll try and get around to this on soon-ish then, I have quite a few awards/tags in my queue 🙂
        Oh I’m a lot more active on WordPress than I am on Tumblr. One of my friends has some horror stories of things she experienced on Tumblr, like anon hate, I’m so glad that’s not the case here, everyone is so lovely 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Please don’t feel pressured on my account!
        I’ve never experienced anon hate on tumblr but I have a friend who went through that and it seemed pretty harsh. This community is a gift 💜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

