Tags

The Book Love Tag

Since I always love gushing about my ships, I was absolutely delighted when Beth @ Reading Every Night tagged me to do this!

Your favourite book couple.

As far as canon book couples go, my current favourite is Patroclus and Achilles (*heart eyes*) from Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles

just fucking kill me ok
Just stab me already, it’ll hurt less.

Your top three book boy/girlfriends.

The Boyfriends:

1// Prince Rhy Maresh from V. E. Schwab’s A Gathering of Shadows

czvv6mnw0aahuee

Rhy quickly became one of my favourite characters in A Darker Shade of Magic but he really stole my heart in A Gathering of Shadows.

2// Poet from Natalia Jaster’s Trick

(This is unacceptable! There is no fanart of Poet!)

Poet made me swoon with his first words on the book’s very first page which, I assure you, does not happen all that often.

3// René Hasard from Sharon Cameron’s Rook

 

So many layers, so much snark.

*cries because, yet again, there is no fan art*

The girlfriends:

1// Lila Bard (also) from V. E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic

the bae

Lila Bard is my single most favourite female protagonist,and I am unconditionally and irrevocably in love with her.

(yes I did in fact just quote Twilight, let’s just ignore that ok?)

2// Annabeth Chase from Rick Riordan’s The Heroes of Olympus

annabeth

‘Nuff said.

3// Despina from Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn

Despina is my favourite character from The Wrath and the Dawn and one of the only reasons that kept me reading at some point.


Imagine your favourite book couple. Who would propose, and how? (If there’s already been a proposal: who would be more into organizing the wedding?)

Patroclus would throw out the idea as a joke, or an offhand comment, and Achilles would immediately jump on it. He would seriously go ALL OUT to propose in a formal setting and then have the most incredible/extravagant wedding.

*cries for 1000 years because this doesn’t happen*


Unpopular opinions time! Name a popular pairing you can’t stand.

Does Snape/Lilly count? Because I hate that pairing, like I hate everything about Snape. I know he tried to redeem himself in the end, but that hardly excuses any of his actions towards Harry (and Neville!).


What’s your favourite and least favourite romance trope?

My favourite trope is definitely the enemies-to-lovers trope. I am absolutely weak when it comes to this situation. While my least favourite trope is a tie between the stockholm syndrome trope (also why I tend to stay away from anything inspired by Beauty and the Beast) or the ‘oh-no-we’re-in-love-but-someone-told-us-we’re-siblings-when-we’re-actually-not’ trope because it’s literally the cheapest way to create romantic tension (I’m looking at you Cassie Clare).


Do you ship non-canon couples often? Name some if you do.

I ship them All. The. Time. It’s seriously one of my favourite things to do when it comes to characters:

  • Drarry (Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling)

I will go down with this ship, and I will also fight anyone who disagrees.

the otp.jpg
They’re baes and no one can convince me otherwise
  • Wolfstar (Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling)
giphy
They couldn’t look more like Harry’s parents if they tried.ried

Let’s be serious, Wolfstar is practically canon at this point, but since it’s technically not I figured it deserved a spot on this list.

  • Felix Wolfe/Yael (Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin)

I loved the dynamic between Felix and Yael in Wolf by Wolf much more than the one between Yael and Luka, so I really hope they become canon.

  • Sterek (Teen Wolf)
giphy1
They BOTH glanced down! What more proof do you need??

See, if this were a scene in a tropy YA book, Derek would relax his grip on Stiles for a second before he grabbed him and kissed him.

  • Destiel (Supernatural)
destiel
This is who Dean longs for, none of that Amara crap going on in this season. 

 

I just want a scene where Dean and Cas are having intense eye-sex, and Sam just takes one look at them and tells them to just get a room already because he can taste the sexual tension between the two at this point.


Your opinion on love triangles. Go!

I usually hate them, unless they stray from the usual ‘girl has to choose between two boys who love her even though it’s incredibly obvious who she’ll end up with’ sort of situation.


Favourite and least favourite love triangle?

Favourite…

The one in the Seraphina duology, I won’t say anymore because spoilers.

(But it’s excellent guys, I swear)

…And Least Favourite

Twilight.


Sometimes romance just isn’t the way to go. Favourite friendship?

The bond that Kell and Rhy share in both A Darker Shade of Magic, but more particularly in A Gathering of Shadows, is incredible, and my heart won’t be able to take it if something happens to either of them.


What’s your favourite scene with your bookish OTP?

The scene at the very end of The Song of Achilles, where Thetis releases Patroclus from his state as a soul trapped on earth.


Imagine your favourite book couple again. Who’s most excited about Valentine’s Day (either ironically or genuinely)?

Patroclus gets genuinely excited for Valentine’s Day but he’s way too shy to make a big deal out of it, thankfully Achilles has no such qualms (when he finally realises that Patroclus genuinely wants to celebrate it, probably halfway through the day because he’s terribly oblivious) he just goes all out.


 

I tag:

*please don’t feel pressured to do this on my account*

What’s your OTP to end all OTPs? Any thoughts on non-canon ships? Tell me bellow!

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Book Love Tag

  1. Yay for Annabeth, it’s really “‘Nuff said.” Haha! I also don’t like the Snape/Lilly pairing… though I didn’t hate Snape that much, but I can’t stand their pairing!! I’m with you there – hehe. This is such a lovely tag!!! Thank you Brigitte for tagging me with this, I’m excited to do this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t used to hate Snape that much until someone defended Snape’s behaviour on tumblr and then got really angry when someone else pointed out that being in love with Lily doesn’t make everything okay. I love some pretty morally gray characters, so I’m really in no position to judge them for having Snape as a favourite character but I do draw the line when people start justifying his behaviour.
      You’re so welcome! I look forward to seeing your answers

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved all your asnwers! My favorite OTP is Will and Tessa. I liked the Infernal Devices so much more than the Mortal Instruments to be honest. And I totally agree with you about the enemies to lovers trope. It’s my favorite as well! Also, I just got my hands on A Darker Shade of Magic and now you made me want to read it even more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Darker Shade of Magic is so good, I could go in for hours about it!
      I only recently finished The Infernal Devices and the OT3 is definitely handled in a great way (one of the best, and saddest, love triangkes I’ve come across) and I definitely agree with you, so far I like that trilogy better than the Mortal Instruments. I’m currently rereading Clare’s first books and I just can’t get over how annoying Clary sounds.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree, Clary constantly annoyed me throughout all six books. I recently reread the first four books and I can’t help but compare Clary and Jace to Tessa and Will. I’ve always felt Tessa’s relationship with Will had much more depth and Will’s relationship with Jem too. I adore these two and Jace and Alec don’t give me that parabatai vibe that much to be honest. And I’m really hoping I’ll love Lady Midnight as much as TID!

        Like

Leave a Reply

