Memes & Features

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I DNFed

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group! This week’s topic is ‘Books you DNF’, which is an awesome topic to explore among bookworms because it’s always fun to get to know which book was too much.

5// Half Bad by Sally Green

18079804

When I picked this book up, I was expecting a certain degree of violence/abuse but not what I was confronted with. I generally have a strong stomach, my curiosity often gets the better of me and I go looking for things I know will disgust me (the internet is a curse in this regard), but I couldn’t get past the first 50 or so pages of this book. I didn’t like the second person narration, and the abhorrent way Nathan was treated in those first few pages just sealed the deal for me.

4// Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

7091488

Back in the summer of 2011 or 2012 I was very bored and I’d recently discovered True Blood as a tv series, so it felt only natural to read the books (let’s all ignore the fact that I was 14/15 at the time), which I went through in 10 days. With every book, I just grew more and more disinterested in the story and halfway through book 10 (yes, it did take me 10 books to realise I didn’t want to continue) I just dropped the series because I couldn’t make it through another book of Sookie not being able to decide which of her 16384725749 suitors (ok, maybe not that many but you get the idea) she wanted to end up with.

3// Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff

15773979

I was blown away by Stormdancer but Kingslayer didn’t quite capture my attention even though I picked it up right after. I might go back to it in the future but, for now, I don’t feel a particular inclination to finish it.

2//Crossed by Allie Condie

9794437

Nothing happened in the first 200 pages of this book. Nothing.

1// Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James

13536860

I only read 15 pages of this before I put it down and just never picked it back up. From what I’ve discovered, this was for the best since there are some sex scenes that are too weird even for me (I’m talking about the one where Christian and Anna have sex while she’s pregnant and  one of them says the baby will grow to enjoy sex this way. The baby which hasn’t even been born. I mean, I’ll tolerate a lot of kinks but this is not one of them).


What are some books you didn’t finish? Is there a specific trope that will make you drop a book if you hadn’t known about it before starting to read? Leave a comment! ❤

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I DNFed

    1. I can’t even begin to imagine what it’s like… I had every intention of finishing it when I picked it up but I pretty much figured the plot out 10p in, and then I stumbled across that rather disturbing excerpt which kind of sealed the deal for me.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Annoying characters and mediocre writing have been reasons I’ve DNFd books before, but the most prominent one for me is usually a complete lack of interest in anything in a long book; I can stomach 200-300 pages but beyond that is too much to ask from me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

