Tags

The Coffee Book Tag

Big thanks to Demmi @ Words and Lyrics for tagging me to do this, and for giving me new coffee flavours to try out! 😀

Black: A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans

This is an incredibly controversial opinion but I recently finished rereading City of Bones, and it was incredibly hard to convince myself not to drop it about halfway through. The writing is grating and tedious, the characters are either whiny or melodramatic, and then there’s the love triangle combined with the ‘we’re-in-love-but-we’re-also-under-the-impression-we’re-siblings’ trope which I can barely tolerate. But the The Mortal Instruments, like all of Clare’s books, have a huge and fiercely loyal fanbase.

Peppermint Mocha: A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year

The Harry Potter series tends to get very popular during the holidays for some reason, personally I think it’s a year-round book but I can see why it would be a winter read since it reminds a lot of readers of their childhood.

Hot Chocolate: A favorite children’s book

22471252

I loved Liz Kessler’s The Tail of Emily Windsnap as a child. While I didn’t like it quite as much when I reread it a few months ago, I still remember hanging onto Kessler’s every word the first time around.

Double Shot of Espresso: A book that kept you on edge of your seat from start to finish

A Gathering of Shadows Final

V. E. Schwab’s A Gathering of Shadows was everything I have ever wanted from a sequel in a trilogy.

Starbucks: A book you see everywhere

25494343

Lady Midnight is everywhere.

That Hipster Coffee Shop: A book by an Indie author

26594092

I’m assuming ‘indie’ here also includes self-published authors, in which case I’m picking Trick by Natalia Jaster for the simply fantastic book it is. The most intriguing thing about this book is the fact that it’s set in a fantasy world but there is no magic involved in the world itself, which was a first for me (and it’s also incredibly well done).

Oops! I Accidentally Got Decaf: A Book You Were Expecting More From

23399267

Anything Could Happen was the most disappointing book I’ve read in years. It’s blurb is more interesting than the story itself, so I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

The Perfect Blend: A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying

13537029

The Song of Achilles is the best blend of heartbreak bitter and sweet, with an ending that absolutely broke me.

Green Tea: A book or series that is quietly beautiful

11186681

I don’t know how a book would be quietly beautiful but I think Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief would fit this description for the powerful impact the book has, without having a story that was grand or blown out of proportion.

Chai Tea: A book or series that makes you dream of far off places

I fell in love with Red London in A Darker Shade of Magic, and that feeling only increased when more of Kell’s home world was revealed in A Gathering of Shadows. I can’t wait for the third book of V. E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series!

Earl Grey: A favorite classic

I don’t like reading classics so I don’t really have a favourite.I tolerate Shakespeare’s and Moliere’s comedies a bit more than other classics, and I do have a special spot for the book Η Εκτέλεση by Φρέντυ Γερμανός (the title translates to The Execution) but I don’t know if that’s classified as a classic.


I had such fun doing this tag, it really made me think on the books I’ve read when it came to some of these questions, so thanks again Demmi!

I tag*

*please don’t feel pressured to do this on my account

 

 

13 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Thanks for doing this! Loved all your answers! The Mortal Instruments is one of my favorite series but I also had trouble getting into the first book. I had to pick it up three times before I finally managed to finish it. And I loved The Infernal Devices a lot more. You should definitely read it, if you haven’t already! And I really want to read The Book Thief and A Darker Shade of Magic. Hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually read TID before reading TMI and that series is much better, especially where the writing is concerned.
      The Book Thief and A Darker Shade of Magic are two of my favourite books, I could go on for hours about each of them! I definitely hope you enjoy them as much as I did. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m even more excited to read them now! I already have A Darker Shade of Magic so hopefully I’ll be able to read it soon! And yes, Cassandra Clare’s writing in TID was brilliant!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I loooove the Mortal Instruments series. But some people do have trouble with the first book. I recommend you stick around, it definitely gets better. A looot better! 😀 And my copy of Lady Midnight is probably arriving tomorrow! Yaayie! And I really need to read A Darker Shade of Magic, I will probably as soon as my finals finish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I read The Infernal Devices before picking up CoB for a second time and I have to admit her later series is better, but I’m still not entirely convinced. I don’t know if you’ve been following the Shadowhunters series but I like that version better than the book up to now.
      A Darker Shade of Magic is one of my all time favourite books, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That was probably a good idea though I haven’t read the Infernal Devices yet but I recently purchased it so I will be starting it next month. Yes, I’m watching the show and I feel the opposite, the show’s good and interesting but I feel the storyline of the book is much better.
        Oh yeah, definetely hope so!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope you like TID, I thought it was the best of her books (that I’ve read so far). What I like about the show is how straightforward it is, because the first two books have a number of scenes that didn’t have anything to do with the plot.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. This is my second time giving it a try, I do hope I actually finish it this time around. I’m currently at book 3, and it feels like a conclusion so I don’t see how the plot would go on…?

      Like

      1. I know what you are talking about but the other books are so good. Actually, City of Heavenly Fire is my favorite of all the books.It’s phenomenol. I’m glad Cassandra Clare continued the series. You need to keep reading. I hope you like it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for tagging me! I agree, The Mortal Instruments has such hardcore fans! I personally didn’t really love it, and quit after the fourth book. And Lady Midnight is everywhere… I think I’ve already done the tag though, but I loved reading your post (it’s always interesting to see other people’s picks). And I’m so grateful you tagged me, I really appreciate it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I read The Infernal Devices first, actually, and I really liked it (seriously, everything about that series is better than her first 3 books), but then I decided I might as well try and read the rest of her books woth the release of both the tv series (which I like much more) and Lady Midnight.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

