Awards and Nominations

Real Neat Blogger Award

real-neat-blog-award

I’d like to thank Orang-Utan @ The Orang-Utan Librarian  and Demmi @ Words and Lyrics for nominating me for this awesome award! :D. I’m both honoured and a little bit surprised because being neat isn’t one of the things I’m known for, so thank you!

RULES:

  • Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.
  • Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.
  • Create 7 questions for your nominees.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers.

Orang-Utan’s Questions

1// What’s your favourite Robin Williams movie? (ah look at me making this relevant to my random tangent!)

I haven’t watched that many Robin Williams films so  I’m picking Night At The Museum, which is one of my favourite comedies of all time.

2// In keeping with the weird theme, what’s your favourite story/book/movie where someone does a Mrs Doubtfire and dresses up as someone they’re not?

My favourite film is definitely Disney’s Mulan, I love everything about it and it’s one of the few Disney film I can watch over and over again. As for my favourite book, it’s probably Eon by Alison Goodman which, I think, is inspired by Mulan (I’m not at all sure, so correct me if I’m wrong).

3// I’m running out of questions related to Mrs Doubtfire…  Turn your itunes on shuffle- and “Jump Around” (the song at the beginning of the movie) to whatever song comes on- report results!

When you say ‘Jump Around’ do you mean actually jumping around because, as much as I’d like to jump around to Roots by Imagine Dragons, I happen to be in the bus right now and I’m pretty sure I’d be annoying quite a few people.

4// Okay, now for a change of topic- who’s your favourite comedian?

Hands down Russell Howard, I love the man.

I don’t think I’ve ever laughed more at someone reading Fifty Shades of Grey.

5// Barring Shakespeare and the Bible- which book would you say was most important to save in the event of the apocalypse?

I suppose all the books isn’t an option? No? Okay then, the Harry Potter books.

6// For Harry Potter fans: what do you think the boggart would turn into if you encountered it? For everyone else: what’s your biggest fear?

I’ve thought long and hard about this in the past because I could never decide on what would be more terrifying, but I think my boggart would turn into my friends and family rejecting me for whatever reason.

7// Voldemort has just confessed his love for you, saying you are the only person that has ever managed to convince him that love exists- what do you say back to him?

I’d probably say ‘Tough luck Voldie, the feeling isn’t mutual.’, before patting him on the back and walking away.

Demmi’s Questions

1// Do you watch horror movies? If so, what’s the one that scared you the most?

I don’t like being scared so I tend to avoid horror movies unless I’m surrounded by a particular group of friends and there are copious amounts of alcohol involved, so I haven’t really watched that many horror movies and I found most of them either terrible or hilarious (some people will tell you they were scared of The Ring but not me) with the exception of Mirrors.

2// What’s your favorite book genre and why?

I love fantasy as a genre because it’s incredibly versatile and lends itself to so many different settings. It’s really a genre I could never get bored of!

3// What’s your favorite Harry Potter spell? Describe a situation in which you’d use it.

The Accio spell, which I would use daily because a) I tend to misplace so many things which means I know their general location but end up spending 30m-1h searching for exactly where I placed the object in question, and b) I hate getting up to reach something and I’m eternally disappointed by my lack of command over The Force.

4// Do you prefer hardcovers or paperbacks?

I prefer paperbacks because they’re easier to carry around.

5// Imagine you’re stranded on a remote island with only one book character to keep you company. Which character would that be?

I’d love to be stuck with either Kell or Lila Bard from A Darker Shade of Magic, because they’d both find a way off the island in no time.

6// What’s your favorite book to movie adaptation?

Technically not a film, but I adore the tv adaptation of Kass Morgan’s The Hundred (yes, even after what happened in ‘Thirteen’)

7// Which seven characters would you invite to a party?

I would invite Poet (Trick by Natalia Jaster) to be the evening’s central entertainment, Kell, Lila, Rhy, and Alucard (all from A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab) because they’re my precious babies and they deserve a night to just relax andhave so fun, Mark Watney (The Martian by Andy Weir) so that I could just talk to him about being stuck on Mars for over a year, and René Hasard (Rook by Sharon Cameron) just to see which of his many personalities he would adopt for such a party.

My Questions

  1. I like this HP line of questioning so: What would Amortentia smell like to you?
  2. Who’s your least favourite villain in a book?
  3. What’s your favourite season, and why?
  4. Do you have a habit you know you should break, but don’t?
  5. What’s your opinion on classics?
  6. Do you have a favourite quote?
  7. If you could talk to any historical/political figure, alive or dead, who would it be and why?
I nominate*:

*please don’t feel pressured to do this on my account!

9 thoughts on “Real Neat Blogger Award

  1. Great answers! I loved all of them! I usually find horror movies terrible or hilarious too. Mirrors was kinda creepy but the one horror movie I have watched and managed to scare me a lot is The Conjuring. Also, I agree that Accio is a very useful spell because I tend to misplace things a lot too. And I think I really need to read A Darker Shade of Magic very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I had such a fun time answering!
      I’ve never watched The Conjuring but I have heard about it, generally I shy away from horror films because I watched Scary Movie 3 when I was 10 and that terrified me for months so I never really wanted to go near actual horror films until years later (and even then, it was outside, in the middle of the day, with my friends next to me, and the sun shining down on us).
      Accio, The Force, or really any kind of telekinetic power would be amazing to have, in my opinion.
      Yes, you should read A Darker Shade of Magic soon :P.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. haha the russell howard clip was hilarious- good choice! And I absolutely *love* Mulan- it’s my joint favourite disney movie! haha shame you didn’t jump around on the bus :p yeah that would be awful- I see why that’s your boggart-fear. And your answer to voldemort declaring his love was hilarious! 😀 gosh- accio would be useful- it was one of my fave spells when it got introduced too! great post- glad you did it!!

    Like

    1. I had a lot of fun doing it!
      I discovered Russel Howard through this clip and he’s one of the three(ish) comedians whose names I actually know and remember.
      Mulan is the best Disney film, in my opinion, and I don’t see why people think Frozen is the only one where the main character doesn’t need her prince.Like have you people never watched Mulan?? Who literally saved all of China???? Disgrace…
      Imagining Voldemort declaring his love was a hilarious scene in my head, I was torn between that response and ‘Are you sure I’m the one you love? I mean your obsession with Harry is pretty damning is all I’m saying…’

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha I know what you mean- it’s sometimes hard to remember which comedian is which- I usually say the one who made the such and such joke :p
        Oh yeah definitely!! Mulan knocks Frozen out of the park. I just happen to have a soft spot for Beauty and the Beast too- I mean, c’mon, that library is to die for- I’d love that film for that image alone!!
        ahahahaha that is hilarious!! I’ve never thought of that before- but I’m sure from now on that’s all I’ll be able to think about!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s actually a fantastic way to refer to comedians, I usually just struggle to remember the name and then ultimately give up.
        I haven’t watched Beauty and the Beast in at least 10 years, so I wouldn’t be able to weigh in on that.
        Good! I can’t be the only one tumblr’s ruined. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

