Tags

Burn, Rewrite, Reread | Tag

I’ve been seeing this tag floating around for a while now so I was delighted when Gel @ Books Y Gel tagged me do this this!

The rules: 

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six).

 

Round 1


 

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’d know that all three books are part of series that I don’t plan to finish so round 1 is starting off well!

  • Burn: All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris because I’d just burn all the Sookie Stackhouse books; I don’t like the series at all, but it would make a good fire since there are 13 books in it.
  • Rewrite: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake because it just comes off as a supernatural filler episode, I liked the premise but I feel it was poorly executed.
  • Reread: Born at Midnight by C. C. Hunter since I really liked this book anyway.

 

Round 2


 

Honestly this round is a no-brainer.

  • Burn: Reawakened by Colleen Houck for All. The. Reasons.
  • Rewrite: The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter. While I liked this book a lot, I feel like some elements could’ve been better done so I would only tweak it a bit, not completely rewrite it.
  • Reread: Stardust by Neil Gaiman because I only grew to appreciate it recently (when I first read it I preferred the film adaptation) and I’d love to get back into it.

 

Round 3


 

Can I burn two books? No? Really? Fine then.

  • Burn: Definitely Dead by Charlaine Harris for the same reasons as round 1
  • RewriteFirelight by Sophie Jordan because this could’ve been the best book but no. It wasn’t. It was so bad.
  • Reread: Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I loved The Covenant series when I read it so this is the obvious choice here.

 

Round 4


 

Well this is getting interesting…

  • Burn: Othello by William Shakespeare. You’d think, as an English major, that I would revere Shakespeare but you would be wrong. While I appreciate his work, I don’t wax poetic about him and Othello brings back particularly annoying memories of my last year at school in English class so I would burn it without hesitation.
  • Rewrite: Timeless by Alexandra Monir. I’ve read this book twice and, while I loved it the first time, some of the magic was lost the second time around so I would just tweak some things here and there rather than rewrite the whole thing.
  • Reread: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller because it’s one of my all time favourites.

 

Round 5


 

Is it fair to put YA and non-fiction together?

  • Burn: Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep. Probably? I read this book a few months ago after having taken a break from the series and I didn’t like it enough to continue on with the next book after that.
  • Rewrite: Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz. I admit I remember precious little about what went down in this book, so I’d rewrite it to be more memorable.
  • RereadΗ Εκτέλεση by Φρέντυ Γερμανός (translation: The Execution by Freddy Germanos). This is the only non-fiction book I’ve ever read and thoroughly enjoyed so I wouldn’t hesitate to reread it again.

 

Round 6


I swear it’s like Goodreads wants this to be easy or something…

  • Burn: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. I am incredibly annoyed/angry at this book because I loved it, I loved the modern take on the Helen and Paris story and the Trojan War, I had great fun reading it, and I honestly thought it would be one of my new favourites. Until I got to the end. Which utilises a trope that I personally hate in order to create tension. I’ve had enough of it in Cassie Clare’s novels and I refuse to go through that angst again.
  • Rewrite: Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead, because I barely remember this book even though I read it barely a year ago and I remember the rest of the series, so I would make it more memorable.
  • Reread: Eon Dragoneye by Alison Goodman. I’m already planning to reread it this year anyway, it’s one of my favourite books!

 

I tag*: 

*Please don’t feel pressured to do this on my account!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread | Tag

  1. “Rewrite: Firelight by Sophie Jordan because this could’ve been the best book but no. It wasn’t. It was so bad.”

    I love the quiet, simple despair in your “It was so bad.” Because yeah. It was so bad.

    I couldn’t make myself read past the first chapter of Born at Midnight, but I might’ve just been too grouchy; if you really liked it, maybe I should give it another go.

    Like

    1. I love dragons and I take it as a personal offence when books with them are terrible.
      I read Born at Midnight *so* many years ago but I remember enjoying at, least the first in the series, more than Anna Dressed in Blood, but I’m not sure I’d like it if I were to reread it now (you could say it was a default choice out of the three).

      Like

  2. Haha I love your choices! I was actually quite a big fan of Sookie, but the last few books were a torture, and let just say, feeling betrayed by a series that you love it’s a very good motivation for me to help you burn it… XD Thanks for tagging me, this is an awesome tag!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome! I liked the first few books too but, yeah, the series just took a turn for the worst, it never stopped, and just kept going on for ages (I think I read an interview where Harris said she felt like 13 books were enough for Sookie’s story. Like no, 13 books is wayyyyy too much).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Granted, I wouldn’t complain if HP had 13 books either (because I *need* them). But I just couldn’t do it with Sookie, I didn’t even finish the series I only got as far as the 11th book.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

