Memes & Features

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love and Books I Hate

Top Ten Tuesdays in a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where, each week, bloggers are invited to create their own top ten lists (if you want to know more about it, you can find out about it here). This week’s topic is ‘The Extreme In Books’ (ok, not really, but shh), so I’ll be talking about 5 of my all-time favourite books and 5 of my most disliked books.

Books I read recently and loved

Trick by Natalia Jaster

26594092

Trick is everything I never knew I wanted needed from a romance.

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows Final

I was worried A Gathering of Shadows would suffer from the ‘second-book-in-the-trilogy’ syndrome, but my fears were unfounded. I loved this book even more than A Darker Shade of Magic and I need to know what’s going to happen to my precious babies!

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

23734628

Carry On is excellent in terms of writing, characters, and the romance (I will go down with Snowbaz), but lags a bit where the plot is concerned. It’s still one of my favourite books I’ve ever read (although I might be biased because Drarry)

The Archer’s Heart: Book One by Astrid Amara

13004378

The first book in The Archer’s Heart trilogy captivated me through its setting and characters, because (let’s be honest) I’m a sucker for two gay idiots falling in love.

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

13537029

Speaking of two gay idiots, there is no better label for Patroclus and Achilles. *heart eyes*

Books I read recently and disliked

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

19542841

I can recognise More Happy Than Not is well written and a decent story with a powerful message, but I did not like reading it and I hated the ending; I expect my books to have a satisfying resolution, otherwise I’d just rely on real life.

Anything Could Happen by Will Walton

23399267

If you expect the story to match the blurb, I’ve got some bad news for you…

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

21421609

Assassin’s Heart was all over the place, with a romance that felt somewhat forced, and a satisfying resolution with left no apparent room for a sequel and yet it’s getting one?? The only redeeming quality of this book was the world, where gods are real and expect worship-something I’ve rarely come across in books.

Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn

18118589

Creature of Moonlight disappointed me on So. Many. Levels, I feel personally offended it was likened to Seraphina.

Reawakened by Colleen Houck

24740629

I’ve never regretted buying a book more. It’s right up there with  Manon Lescaut, except I didn’t get to rip into this one for a national exam so I have not obtained closure.

Not only has she bastardised one of my favourite mythologies, created a Mary Sue to end all Mary Sues, but she also has the MC fall in love with the guy who, quite literally, stalked her and exhibits all the markers of being an abuser (victim blaming? Check. Telling her she’ll be in pain without him? Check. Constantly apologises for hurting her and then goes right back to doing it? Check. I could go on but you get the point).

On that note: if Houck ever touches Greek mythology, I will personally drag her down to the deepest pit of Tartarus to hang out with Kronos.

If you want to read this book (which I do not recommend, but, hey, be it’s your choice after all), just download a copy off the internet, it’s not worth your money in any way.


 

What’s a book you regretted spending money on? Let me know!

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love and Books I Hate

    1. I REGRET NOTHING.
      While I like a good messy romance now and then, Assassin’s heart just didn’t do it for me, which is a shame really because I think it could’ve been fantastic. I wish the world were developed a little more and the romantic aspect to the story hadn’t eclipsed everything else…
      YES! Trick is *perfect*. I read it a few weeks ago and I’ve been utterly in love with it ever since.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t particularly like the way everyone is in love with the whole ‘Romeo and Juliet’ thing, so that description put me off from the very beginning and it may have influenced how I read the book. In retrospect the book wasn’t that bad (I’ve seen read books 1-3 of The Mortal Instruments and they are So.Much. Worse) but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a good strategy, I’d say.
        If I’d read TMI when the books first came out, I would’ve probably liked them more but right now I have very little patience for whiny 16 year olds so I couldn’t enjoy the series as much as its other fans.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I keep hearing bad things about Reawakened and honestly, it’s quite sad because I love ancient Egyptian mythology! I never read her Tigers Curse series but I always found it odd the MC was White because the plot revolves around Indian mythology.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Having begun the Tiger Saga, I can confirm that it’s odd, especially considering the MC has no knowledge of Indian anything (it’s constntly specified in the first book, so much so that she studies this at uni in the second book) and she turns out to be a special snowflake and the only person who can break the curse.
      Now, you’d think that after people pointed that out, Reawakened would be different, but it really isn’t. In fact, I’d say it’s worse because the MC in this case is also annoying, vain, snobbish on top of being a special lil snowflake who exoticises everything. I was so excited when I when the blurb because I adore Egyptian mythology, so this book was a huge let down for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

