Bookish musings

Book Recs For All You Greek Mythology Nerds!

I love recommending books to people (and by that I mean I usually shove a certain book in my friends’ faces until they either tell me to shut up about it, or one of them caves and reads it), so what it feels only natural to recommend books to you guys!

I’ll be making a number of these posts (fairly obvious but I figured I’d point it out anyway) with a different theme each time in order to really pick out specific books.This week, I’m recommending books based on Greek mythology that take place both in Ancient Greece, but also in more modern times because it’s always fun to see how an author can adapt a certain source material!

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

I am a huge Percy Jackson fan so, of course, this series would feature on this list. Honestly, I highly recommend it to anyone who have an even passing interest in Greek mythology. While the target audience in mainly middle-grade, PJO appeals to such a larger audience both because of its themes and its characters (and everything else, really).

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller 

13537029

If you know anything about me, you know I love The Song of Achilles. Patroclus and Achilles’ story in this book has quickly become one of my favourite tales, while I legit have the urge to pick the Iliad up now.

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

23569428

Another book set in Ancient Greece, Legacy of Kings is the first book in a series that follows Alexander the Great during his years as a teenager (he’s 16 if I remember right). I don’t know as much about Alexander the Great as I do about earlier times, but I’m pretty sure the book is fairly historically accurate, and the story is fantastic. I loved the writing, the multiple POVs allowed insight into all of the important characters, and I can’t wait for the sequel to come out!

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake

13246736

Let’s be honest, who wouldn’t want to read a book about Greek gods slowly dying out? While Antigoddess can get pretty dark, I found it fantastic and I really enjoyed seeing the gods portrayed as vulnerable.

Daughters of Zeus by Kailtin Bevis

I’ve only read the first three books of this series that follow Persephone (I’m still on the fence about picking up the fourth) but they were pretty good. It’s an original take on the Hades and Persephone myth that I enjoyed reading.

The Covenant series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Lately I’ve been and on-again-off-again fan of Armentrout’s book, but I’ve always like her Covenant series. Alex is such a fun character and I love her chemistry with Aidan, while the plot’s been fantastic in the four books I’ve read. I read Apollyon a couple years ago and I haven’t picked up sentinel yet but I plan on finishing the series soon!


So I’ve only included the books and series that employ actual Greek myths here, not just the ones that use a single creature/element, that I really liked when I read them.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you think of them! Also if there’s any other book you can think of that I should know about, feel free to rec me, I’d love to read more books like these!

 

 

16 thoughts on “Book Recs For All You Greek Mythology Nerds!

    1. You’re very welcome! I’m a huge sucker for mythology in books and I figured there must be at least a few other people out there who felt the same, and so this post was born. If you do read any of these, I hope you enjoy them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! You’ve come to the right person, I’m a huge lover of mythology (any kind of mythology, I love it all) so I usually go looking for such books and I figured I’d share some of my favourites!

      Like

  1. I am going to have to try some of these! I am a mythology fan in general and have read ALL OF EVERYTHING that Rick Riordan has ever written for Greek, Roman, Egyptian mythology and he is now delving into Norse! Percy Jackson and the Olympian Gods series is just my favourite thing in the world! I have totally convinced myself that I would be a daughter of Athena.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The PJO books are the reason I started reading books inspired by mythology! I loved the concept and I just needed more (at the time, only the first 3 books had been released and it wasn’t enough!). I haven’t given it much thought, but I think daughter of Apollo would be a good fit for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to have to read some of these, I really love mythology, especially Greek. I’ve already devoured the Percy Jackson series, a couple of times, it’s brilliant, so if the others are as good I’ll be very happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

