Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | March 2016

Remember when I said I wouldn’t be aiming as high as 9 this month and would settle for 7? Well I completely blew past that goal and read 12 books this month because it seems I honestly have nothing else to do (I do but let’s ignore that fact).


Books I read

  • Anything Could Happen by Will Walton: The blurb made this book out to be everything I ever wanted, but the actual book was an incredible let down. I go more into detail about why this was in my review of it.
  • Trick by Natalia Jaster: This book was everything I never knew I wanted, and everyone with a penchant for romance should read it (like right now).
  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin: This book was expertly written, with beautiful characters, and a fantastic plot, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to.
  • Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare: I finally got around to finishing this book and I was rather unimpressed with the ending, Tessa quite literally went Deus ex Machina on Mortmain, so it was entirely too convenient, in my opinion.
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: I read this book for the Fanboy Book Club, but I didn’t like it at all. I felt the style was too serious and mature for the set of characters we’re given, while the main character’s behaviour towards his best friend/crush really annoyed me. I can recognise that it was well written, with an intriguing plot, and  plot twist that I didn’t see coming, but I didn’t enjoy reading it myself.
  • A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab: Victoria Schwab deserves all the love for AGOS because it’s so perfect and that ending ripped my heart to shreds not once, but twice.
  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh: Unlike most people, I didn’t fall head over heels for The Wrath and the Dawn upon reading because, while it could have been a fantastic book, there were a number of elements that dragged the whole thing down such as the use of the death of a friend to further the plot.
  • The Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat: There was so much Laurent/Damen on my tumblr dash that I read early to avoid being spoiled. The Captive Prince was an intriguing book, with a focus on characters and interactions rather than plot, and a heavy emphasis politics with real action only appearing in the last few chapters. And yet I loved every single word. It’s been a long time since I read a purely political novel (because that’s what this is) but I enjoyed every second of it and it kept me up well into the night.
  • City of Bones: With the tv series coming out, I figured it was time to complete this series. I was disappointed by City of Bones because it felt like it was trying too hard in terms of writing (I counted 4 similes on a single page), without fully developing its characters (thus rendering most of them irritating at best), and using a villain who was more laughable than fear inducing. I will admit, the plot wasn’t entirely terrible and I found the world fascinating but I came close to DNFing this book several times.
  • City of Ashes: Building on City of Bones, City of Ashes didn’t do much to improve my opinion of the series. The majority of it suffered from middle-book syndrome, which only added another tedious layer to wade through since nothing improved writing and character wise. However, I found the ending fantastic and it renewed the little enthusiasm I had.
  • City of Glass: (In case you’re wondering, yes I did read these one after the other). While CoG was less irritating than the first two books, it was still a far cry from actually being enjoyable. Valentine’s fate felt entirely too similar to Mortmain’s (I can see why people say The Infernal Devices are a carbon copy of The Mortal Instruments) but I liked having a first hand look into the actual world of the books beyond New York.
  • City of Fallen Angels: I was taken entirely by surprise by City of Fallen Angels. Not only was the writing about 100x better, but previously secondary characters such as Simon, Alec, Magnus and Isabelle were brought into the spotlight, which lessened the focus on Clary and Jace’s relationship angst (can they not catch a break? Not for their sakes’ but mine, I can’t go through another three books of that! Please have mercy?). Plot-wise, I felt like this book was rather disorganised with a plot that really only took off towards the end and an ultimately unsatisfying, if not predictable, ending.

I have to say, I’m pretty proud of how much I managed to read this month, even if I didn’t manage to get to The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emilie Skrutskie for yet another month  (but fear not! I’ve actually started reading it so the only reason it didn’t make the list is because I’m not done).


 

Challenges

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: According to the counter, I’m ten books ahead of schedule (which is probably due to me devouring TMI rather than actually getting stuff done, but shh)! Maybe it’s time to up the number of book I plan on reading this year?
  • The Series Challenge: I’ve completed The Infernal Devices and Shades of Magic while I’m only two books away from completing The Mortal Instruments so I’m making some headway on this. I also added The Raven Cycle and the rest of The Captive Prince to the series I want to get to this year because I’ve heard fantastic things about both.
  • The New Releases Challenge: As I only read A Gathering of Shadows this month, I’m still squarely a ‘New Release Newbie’ and I don’t think I’ll getting to ‘New Release Pro’ by the end of April.
  • The Commenting 365 Challenge: I’m still behind on this challenge, but I’m working on it!

 

TV series I spent time on

Newly Discovered

  • How To Get Away With Murder: OH. My. God. You guys this series is amazing, I can’t believe I waited this long to watch it!

New Releases

  • Houdini & Doyle: A crime series combining the genius of Arthur Conan Doyle and Harry Houdini’s illustrious nature (I believe it’s based on their real life friendship too), need I really say more?
  • Damien: I’m a hardcore Bradley James fan so I was delighted to find out he was going to be starring in a tv series based on The Omen. Unfortunately, I was less than impressed by first few episodes in the series so I’m not entirely sure I’ll continue watching it.(he’s still great in it, and his american accent is spot on).
  • Of Kings and Prophets: I’m a sucker for any kind of fictional stories based off the bible (or christian mythology in general) and this one seems pretty well done. I can’t attest to how historically accurate it is, nor how true is it to the source material but the premise was enough to pique my interest in it.

Returning Favourites

  • Faking It: I can’t wait to see how Amy and Karma’s friendship progresses in this third season, especially with the way they left things in the second season’s finale.
  • Marvel’s Daredevil: Foggy is a precious cinnamon roll who must be protected at all costs!

So that concludes my March wrap-up! I don’t know how much reading I’ll get done in April but I do want to, at least, start The Raven Cycle as well as finish The Mortal Instruments and The Captive Prince.

What are some books you read this month? Anything that particularly stood out?

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | March 2016

  1. You got a good amount of reading this month! I wish mine could’ve been that productive.

    I’ve been wanting to read Wolf by Wolf for a while now, and I’ve mostly heard good things, so it’s interesting hearing that you didn’t like it as much. I’m looking forward to reading it so that I can gauge it myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going through my usual midsemester slump, hence the amount of books I managed to get to this month.
      It’s not that I didn’t like Wolf by Wolf so much as I didn’t connect with it. The book literally hits every single one of my favourite things to read about so I’m thinking it was a more of a bad timing than the book actually not being good. I would absolutely recommend you read it, I certainly hope you’ll have a better experience!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You did fantastic last month! I’m glad to see another positive review for A Gathering of Shadows since that’s going to be my next read after I finish my re-read of ADSOM (or rather my listen to it). It’s a shame you didn’t love the first three Mortal Instruments books or Clockwork Princess. Hopefully you’ll love Lady Midnight. Just don’t get too attached to the storylines if you want to watch Shadowhunters. I was really let down by the show. But I hope you really love it. n_n

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly can’t believe I read this much in March! A Gathering Of Shadows is so fantastic, I mean it appears to start off slow but I loved the attention to the characters in it. I’m slowly wading through City of Lost Souls and it’s marginally better than the last books so I’m more optimistic going forward. I have actually been watching Shadowhunters and I like it much better than the books because the characters are so much more fleshed out. I mean, there are a few problems with the series in terms of storyline but it keeps getting better with every episode, so I’m optimistic.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

