Bookish musings

Monthly TBR | April 2016

April is dedicated to finishing series since I’ll be tackling The Captive Prince, The Mortal Instruments, and The Grisha Trilogy, as well as starting Six of Crows and The Raven Boys. I’m aiming for 9 books at this point, so we’ll see how that plays out!


  • City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare: I certainly hope this book is much more engaging than the last one, which just felt like a filler book.
  • City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare: Well I’ve made it this far I might as well finish the series.
  • The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie: I’ve actually already started this one. I like it so far (being only 30 pages in or so), the narrative tone is engaging and I’m optimistic about it.

 

  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo: It’s high time I finish the series, especially since I just keep getting spoiled for little bits here and there through tumblr.
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: The Scorpio Races is this month’s pick for the Fanboy Book Club and I can’t wait to get to it, it sounds incredibly intriguing.
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t read Six of Crows, and tumblr seems to think it’s fair game as far as spoilers are concerned so I’ve added this one to my April TBR.

 

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: With all the hype surrounding The Raven King, my curiosity for this series has been reawakened so I’m rereading The Raven Boys before deciding if I’ll continue on with the rest.
  • Prince’s Gambit by C. S. Pacat: That Captive Prince ending was a killer and I need to know what happens next.
  • Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat: I doubt anything will make me drop this series so I’m adding Kings Rising to this month’s TBR.

 


I don’t know if I’ll be able to read all of these but I’m very optimistic about it and that’s what counts!

Have you read any of these books? What are some books that you’re planning to get to this month?

8 thoughts on “Monthly TBR | April 2016

  1. Six of Crows was simply amazing! I loved it even more than Shadow and Bone! I still haven’t read Ruin and Rising either. And I agree about City of Fallen Angels not being as good as the other books in the series but luckily things picked up a lot in City of Lost Souls. And I really really want to start The Raven Boys too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wrote this up 5 days ago and I’ve since finished The Raven Boys 😛 I thought it was a fun book, but the writing was a bit on the flowery side. I do love what she does with her characters and I think thats the book’s strongest point in this case.
      Well I’ve sort of been spoiled for some parts of Ruin and Rising so thats one of the chief reasons I haven’t read it yet, I didn’t really want to after that, but I’m definitely getting to it soon because of Six of Crows. I certainly hope the whole thing picks up in City of Lost Souls but I’m sort of losing hope in the series at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. City of Lost Souls was my second favorite after City of Glass. I’ve already been spoiled for Ruin and Rising too, so I’m not in a hurry to pick it up. But you can definitely read Six of Crows before you read this. It’s what I did.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you;ve got so many amazing books on your to-read for this month. I really hope you love Ruin and Rising, Six of Crows and The Raven Boys; I thought they were all brilliant books so I really hope you love them as well.
    Also I’ve heard so many amazing things about the Captive Prince books, I may have to add the series to my to-read list because I’m curious about it now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Captive Prince is great and you should definitely read it (although I’d suggest you don’t snack on anything while you do that, you might lose your appetite because of some scenes). I’m definitely looking forward to getting to all of these, your praise of them only makes me more excited!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’ll definitely add it to my to-read list then, may take me a while to get around to it but I’ve heard great things about the book and I am curious! And OK, I never really eat when reading but I will keep that in mind 🙂
        Yay, I really do hope you love them! I can’t wait to see your reviews for them all!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

