Memes & Features

Top Ten Bookish People You Should Definitely Look Into

Top Ten Tuesdays in a weekly meme/feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where, each week, bloggers are invited to create their own top ten lists (if you want to know more about it, you can find out about it here). This week’s topic is ‘Ten Bookish People to Follow’ so this is going to be a mix of blogs, twitters, and booktubes that I really enjoy:

Hey Ashers!

What drew me to Liam’s blog was the epistolary form his reviews take on (I wish I’d thought of it myself). Since he’s an aspiring writer himself, he not only highlights the strengths and weaknesses of a book but he also suggests ways in which he would’ve improved certain aspects of it.

Read, Think, Ponder

If you don’t fall in love with CW’s graphics, then there must be something off with you. Okay, okay, not really, but seriously if you want a refreshing take on reviews paired with beautiful artwork that’s unique to each book, then this is the blog to go to.

Recaptains

 If you’ve forgotten what happened in the last book of a series, I have the perfect remedy! Seriously, I’m the worst when it comes to remembering the little details between releases, so this site has really saved my life (you can even contribute to it if you feel like it, I did with a summary of Ember in the Ashes).

The Snark Theater

 I fell on The Snark Theater through a review of Reawakened, and then I stayed for the chapter by chapter reviews full of snark and sarcasm.

Thoughtsontomes

Sam was the very first booktuber I subscribed to after watching one of her Top 5 Wednesdays videos (the meme of which she is now the host! I’m so happy for her 😀 ). She provides insightful reviews and her gush/gripe videos are the best!

Booksandquills:

Sanne not only has awesome book reviews, but she also does general life related videos such as Surviving your 20s, and tours of London.

InkBonesBooks

If you’re looking for opinions on books, anime, video games, tv series, and even make up, then I have the perfect channel for you. Her videos are so fun and there’s really something for everyone here.

Problems Of A Book Nerd

Cece’s videos are always so fun and cheerful, they never fail to make my day! While I’ve only been aware of her for a rather short amount of time, her reviews are very thoughtful and I appreciate the fact that she is a more character-driven reviewer who just lays it all out as it is.

Typical YA Heroine

Nothing delights me more than reading this Typical YA Heroine’s tweets. I think all authors should follow her, just so they know what to avoid when it comes to female protagonists.

Brooding YA Hero

 The Brooding YA Hero’s tweets are even more hilarious than his counterpart’s and I am half tempted to create an OC who displays all these traits just to see where it goes (he would probably be the most annoying little shit ever so I’m not gonna do that).


I’ve only just begun exploring the bookish community so if you have any suggestions, please let me know! I’d love to discover more bookish people to be on the look out for.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish People You Should Definitely Look Into

    1. Lia’s recaps of Throne of Glass are absolutely hilarious, they always make me start my day with a smile!
      Recaptains is such a life saver, I’ve praised every diety I know for the existance of that site.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You guys, I can’t take the compliments, they’re too much, -I will die-.

        Your list is golden, Brigitte! I’ve been checking in on Brooding YA Hero (too infrequently), but hadn’t heard of Typical YA Heroine. I know what I’ll be obsessively scrolling through tonight!

        Booktubers are amazing. The skill it takes to speak coherently (not to mention with enthusiasm and panache!) in front of a video camera for millions of people to watch is just incredible. =)

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I like complimenting people, so you’ll just have to deal with it.
        Thanks! Brooding YA Hero and Typical YA Heroine are hilarious because they’re actually so true most of the time.
        Honestly I don’t think I would ever be able to have my own booktube, for starters I cringe at the sound of my voice on videos/recordings so the whole thing wouldn’t even take off, much less be watched by millions of people. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Problems of a Book Nerd is one of my favourite recent discoveries, just her enthusiasm for the whole thing sucked me in.
      Nothing beats Brooding YA Hero, those tweets are simply golden and I can always think of at least one book character they fit!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

