Bookish musings

Series I Will Not Finish #3

I come to you today with the third batch of series I just won’t finish (here’s the first, and here’s the second) with most series being ones I lost interest in between sequels.

Fallen Angels series by Katherine Pine

I’ll be honest with you, the only thing I remember about After Eden (the only book I read) is a love triangle between a human, an angel, and a demon, and that’s only after I read the blurb and did some further research, so I’m not going to continue the series.

Graceling Realm by Kristin Cashore

I loved reading Graceling, it was one of the first books of high fantasy that really caught my attention (and by that I mean that I remember parts of it even today), but I thought it was a standalone for years, which I was absolutely fine with because the story wrapped up quite well if I remember right, so, by the time I discovered there were another two books in the series, I didn’t really feel like going back to it. I’m actually still on the fence about this one because I’ve heard fantastic reviews about the series as a whole so I might get into it later on.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

While I liked Hex Hall well enough (it didn’t really stand out but it was fast and fun), Demon Glass didn’t hold my attention for long so I groaned my way through it and then decided not to continue with the series.

Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I picked up Beautiful Creatures because of the hype that surrounded it and, while I enjoyed it well enough, I was expecting more from it. When Beautiful Darkness came out, I went into it with significantly lowered expectations but I didn’t like the way the two main characters went about being a couple, so I stopped reading fairly early on (I think I was about 50 pages in?), and have no desire to complete the series.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

When I read The Hunger Games,  the present tense narration was something that was really weird for me (I hadn’t read another book in present tense before) so that was the first thing that put me off, and then the story wasn’t the dystopian romance that I loved reading about back then so I never really read past the middle of Catching Fire. Since I’ve seen the movies and I’ve been beyond spoiled through tumblr, I don’t really have a burning desire to pick the series back up.

(please don’t hate me)

The Fairie Ring by Kiki Hamilton

When I read The Faerie Ring I was going through an intense phase during which I was only reading faerie themed books, but by the time the sequel came out I’d sort of lost interest in the genre so I never picked it up and forgot about the series until recently. As it is, I’m on the fence about this series as well.

Nightshade series by Andrea Cremer

I didn’t like the ending of Nightshade at all, and that pretty much put me off for the rest of the series.

The Kommandant’s Girl series Pam Jenoff

I actually only found out this was a series last month. The first book wrapped up most of the loose ends, while leaving space for a sequel, but I was utlimately satisfied so I didn’t really look further. After reading the blurr for the second book, I’m not interested in picking it up because it doesn’t actually take place during WWII (like the first) but after the end with an entirely new set of characters.

Matched by Ally Condie

Where do I even begin with this series? Matched was okay, it wasn’t great, it was a little boring, but it wasn’t entirely terrible either, and then I read Crossed (or rather started to read it because I didn’t finish it). Far from making it better, literally nothing happened in the 150 pages or so that I read (and I have it on good authority that nothing happens in the book as a whole) so, when I decided I had better things to do with my time (aka better books to read), I didn’t regret my decision to drop this series one bit.

50 Shades of Grey by E. L. James

You can probably guess why I wouldn’t finish this series, but I’m still going to go ahead and explain.
I got as far as the beginning of Fifty Shades Freed in this truly fantastic trilogy (the epitome of literature right here) when I was on tumblr and fell across a particularly, um, peculiar scene where Ana and Christian are having sex while she’s pregnant and she (I think?) says the baby will end up loving sex because they’re going at it all the time. The baby at that point was still a foetus. An unborn foetus. I mean I try not to kinkshame but that went too far, even for me.


And on that delighting note, we’ve reached the end of this post! Have you read (and finished) any of these? Should I reconsider not finishing them?

10 thoughts on “Series I Will Not Finish #3

  1. Thanks for this great post. I sometimes feel weird when I don’t finish the whole series. I have a category on my blog called 3 Bells where I review a trilogy in 3 days. I am about to post the next set and I didn’t finish book 3 for what I believe are valid reasons and I am still uneasy with posting a series that I didn’t finish. But I am going to post anyway because what happens happens.

    As for the Graceling series, I read them all and really enjoyed them. Though I do get that when the book feels like a standalone you don’t always read more. Fire Logic was like that for me even though I enjoyed the book. The review of that one is on my blog if you would like to read it 😉

    Happy reading.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Obviously I’m no stranger to not finishing series, but if you’ve read the majority of one, I think you should be able to give a valid opinion on it.
      It’s not that I didn’t want to read more at the time, it was that I didn’t know there were more until a friend of mine pointed out how amazing the series is but, by that time, I’d forgotten a lot of things about the book. If I were to pick it up now, I would have to reread the first before continuing and I’m just not feeling like doing that.

      Like

  2. Nightshade, ugh. I don’t remember much of the story, except that it struck me as both silly and weirdly misogynistic. I didn’t finish that series, either.

    Graceling and Fire both have special places in my heart, despite their flaws. I read Fire first, and because I thought it was a stand-alone, I was really put off by the ending. Anyone who reads Fire first should definitely be reassured that Graceling is Fire’s sequel. I’m still disappointed that I couldn’t get into Bitterblue, though. =/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I barely remember anything of Nightshade other than the fact that I really didn’t like the ending, so I’ll take your word for the rest of the story.
      At this point with Graceling I would either have to reread the book before moving on to Fire, or go in blind; neither option is really all that appealing at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read and enjoyed Hex Hall, and while I wasn’t blown away, I did plan to continue the series. It’s been a few years now though, and I’m not sure if I’m still interested in the series. Graceling has been on my tbr for a while now, so whether you continue the series or not, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Graceling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I’d had the entire HexHall series when I started the first book, I would’ve binge read the series, no questions. As it is,the story lost its appeal in the time it come for the sequels to come out, so I really have no desire to continue.
      Graceling is a great book and I’d definitely recommend it if you like high fantasy, don’t take my abandoning the series as an indication on whether or not to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Graceling as a standalone was great, but I don’t know how it would fit in the series since I haven’t read the rest.
      Piece of advice: don’t read the rest of the Matched books, it’s just not worth the time and effort.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

