Bookish musings

Series I Will Not Finish #4

It’s time for the fourth batch of series (#1, #2, #3) I won’t finish, in which I discovered books that I didn’t even remember reading, and series I attempted to read while in a reading slump.

Wake by Lisa McMann

I don’t even remember reading Wake but apparently I have.

Emblem of Eternity by Angela Corbett

I couldn’t connect with any of the characters in Eternal Starling and the plot wasn’t engaging enough to keep me interested.

The Existence Trilogy by Abbi Glines

When I read the blurb for the first book, I was hooked (death falling for a human? Sign me up!) but the execution wasn’t the best since I just felt like I was reading yet another YA book where a mythical creature falls in love with a human girl, without many original elements. Add to that the fact that Predestined suffered from middle-book syndrome and Ceaseless hadn’t been released at the time, it didn’t take long for me to completely lose interest in the series.

The Secret Circle by L. J. Smith

Confession time: I watched the tv series before reading the books and I like it better. The characters were better written and I liked the first part of the plot much more, so reading the first two books wasn’t all that enjoyable.

The Immortals series by Alyson Noël

I couldn’t get past the first book for a few reasons, the most important of which were the fact that the main character (named Ever, I mean who does that?) was very annoying, the romance was completely off, and the plot wasn’t terribly exciting.

The Wings series by Aprilynne Pike

I read Wings while I was right in the middle of my ‘fairies in YA’ phase but I didn’t start Spells until I’d moved on from that, so I didn’t really feel like continuing the series after that.

The Fins series by Tera Lynn Childs

I barely remember anything about Forgive My Fins apart from the fact that I didn’t like it enough to continue with the rest of the series.

The Siren series by Tricia Rayburn

Siren was a fantastic book (one of the few I remember quite clearly) but I picked up Undercurrent while I was in the middle of a reading slump and I just couldn’t get into back into the story at the time so I didn’t even finish it, much less continue the series.

The Shadow Grail series by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edghill

Legacies turned out to be incredibly generic in the way its plot was constructed, to the point that I almost DNFed it halfway through because I’d figured everything out at that point, so the rest of the series was doomed at that point.

Delcroix Academy by Inara Scott

While The Candidates was interesting enough with its combination of a totalitarian-esque power structure combined with a boarding school mystery, I felt the plot was lacking and characters, and their relationships weren’t engaging enough for me to continue with the series.


Have you read (and finished) any of these? Should I reconsider not finishing them?

 

Leave a Reply

