Awards and Nominations

The Entertainer Blogger Award

eba1

I was delighted to discover Kellie @ Book DelightsΒ had nominated me for this fun award! Thank you so much for considering me entertaining! πŸ˜€

The Rules:

  • Write up a post about the award
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Don’t forget to include the rules!
  • Answer the questions bellow
  • nominate 12 bloggers of your choice

The Questions

Why did you start a blog in the first place?

Well, I just needed to talk to someone about the books I read because none of my friends’ tastes are similar to mine.

What is your favourite book?

What is this? It’s like asking me to choose my favourite child!

I’ll take a page out of Kellie’s book and direct you to a list of my favourites (which I should probably get around to updating one of these days).

What do you dislike the most?

You’ve caught me in a rather inopportune moment (I just got off a skype call with my mother) so what I dislike the most right now is my mother’s constant denial of the fact that I’m not straight. It must be the 6th (7th?) time I’ve tried to tell her? It’s both incredibly amusing and rather irritating at this point.

What is your favourite food item from the mall?

There’s this one department store here in Geneva that makes chocolate and caramel crepes with a caramel prepared with salted butter.

H-E-A-V-E-N-L-Y

What is your favourite pastime? Β 

The obvious answer here is reading.

I nominate

Demmi @ Words and Lyrics
CW @ Read Think Ponder
Gabby @ Gabby The Dauntless Warlock
Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny
Yvo @ It’s All About Books
Sarah & Faith @ Sublime Reads
Kiwi @ Kiwi Reads
Yasmin & Paige @ The Wild Readers
Percy @ Percy Reads
Paul @ The Galaxial World
Analee @ Book Snacks
Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff

 

 

25 thoughts on “The Entertainer Blogger Award

    1. You’re welcome!
      At this point I’m overall amused by her constant state of denial, with the occasional bouts of annoyance when it comes up in a conversation. I’m also curious what she’ll say when she’s straight up confronted with a real situation, instead of just me joking or suggesting it.

      Like

      1. Frustrating is a good way to describe the whole thing, I’m pretty sure she needs to be confronted by it and then given time to get used to the situation, and then things should be fine. I’m not particularly worried, in any case.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved reading your answers for this tag! I started a blog for nearly the same reason. Most of my friends don’t read as fast as I do and whenever I wanna talk about books with them they’ve never read them. I needed people who I could talk with about what I’d already read.
    Also oh my god those chocolate and caramel crepes sound amazing. I may have to come to Geneva just to try them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The struggle of not being able to talk about books is so real!
      The crepes are amazing (it’s a real challenge not to just go get one every day since the shop is pretty much next to my uni), and definitely one of the reasons I’d give to visit Geneva.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need those chocolate and caramel crepes in my life/mouth right now.

    Ugh, best of luck with your mom. Is she pointedly asking when you’ll get married, trying to hook you up with guys, intentionally misunderstanding (or flat-out ignoring) you when you mention your not-straightness? All of the above? Something worse? Whatever’s going on, I’m sorry to hear it.

    My family (including my Southern Baptist grandmother, weirdly enough) was immediately accepting of my not-straightness, but they’ve had a significantly harder time with my non-binary gender identity. They’ve had almost a decade to get used to my self-chosen male name–which my husband and his family (and literally everyone else) use with no problem, thank god–but they still call me by my original female name. *Shakes a fist.* Maybe one day I’ll press the issue instead of just feeling quietly awkward and uncomfortable.

    How about you? Think you’ll ever sit your mom down and force her to confront the fact of your sexuality?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s not asking when I’ll get married quite yet, but any attempt to even suggest I might be into more than just men is met with a ‘that’s not something to joke about Brigitte’ paired with a condescending, if slightly patronising, tone.
      That sucks to hear, no one should have to contantly feel awkward and uncomfortable like that; personally I’d tell you to try and bring it up sometime as casually as possible, but I know better than most that it’s much easier to give advice than it is to actually follow it.
      At this point, I think I’ll let her come to terms with it herself the day I show up with a girlfriend. Sure it’s a bit petty on my part (more than a bit, but shhh) but I’ve been telling her it could be a distinct possibility for the past three years and the whole thing is just exasperating at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, lord. That’s awful. Hopefully hearing her say that doesn’t bring you down too much.

        Your plan doesn’t sound petty to me at all, actually; like you said, you’ve been trying to tell her, and if she won’t believe you until you show her proof, then so be it. You have the right to live your life and find happiness where you want to; your mother’s squeamishness and refusal to accept reality shouldn’t force you to hide your future girlfriend(s)/wife from your family.

        I’m glad to see you can describe the situation as “exasperating” instead of, say, “heartbreaking” or “miserable” or the like.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My mother frequently contradicts herself when it comes to living by her religious beliefs, which I find very amusing, hence why this is exasperating rather than anything else. It might take a few years, but she’ll get comfortable with it eventually.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome! I can’t wait to read your answers πŸ™‚
      The crepes are certainly drool-worthy (I double-checked today πŸ˜› ), and they serve as excellent comfort food when I have to deal with the wall of frustration that is my mother. I’m not too worried about the whole situation, I just wish she’d get used to it already.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

