Memes & Features

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Maternal Figures

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to join Top 5 Wednesday take a look at the Goodreads group! This week’s topic is ‘Books with your favourite mothers/maternal figures’ which is a topic worth talking about since there’s a general lack of family in a lot of YA books.

24807186

While Henryka is more of a grandmother than a mother, she’s still one of my favourite characters from Wolf By Wolf. All the little glimpses of her paint her as a caring and grumpy old granny, while her relationship with Yael is incredibly sweet.

  • The women in the Sargent House from Maggie Stievfater’s The Raven Cycle

I’ve jumped on the hype train with The Raven Cycle and it’s not something I regret! The women surrounding Blue are each exceptional in their own right and each and every one of them is a precious cinnamon roll that must be protected.

Sally Jackson must be protected at all costs.

Molly Weasley is queen amongst maternal figures, must I really say more?

  • Queen Avalea of Mista from Natalia Jaster’s Trick

26594092

I loved the fact that Briar recognised the efforts her mother was making to restore their relationship, even though she wasn’t making any herself out of guilt. The way they both grew through the book’s events was very sweet and this is definitely a model to follow as far as mother-daughter relationships go.


What are your favourite maternal figures in books? What’s your opinion of the general lack of a family structure when it comes to YA?

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Maternal Figures

    1. I thought of putting some less favourable moms on my list, but then decided I’d rather talk about characters being happy since that’s also uncommon (at least where my favourite characters are concerned). I understand the lack of a strong parental figure in a YA book may avoid conflict and make the adventures the MC goes on easier, but it’s important to have that familial structure so I do want to see more of it in books.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Molly Weasley is queen among maternal figures haha, I think I’ve seen her on everyone’s list today (mine included). I’ve never heard of “Trick” but it sounds really intersting and I’ll have to check it out! Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Molly Weasley is definitely the most memorable mother I’ve ever come across, it would be a crime not to include her on the list.
      Trick is a wonderful book and I recommend it wholeheartedly!

      Like

  2. I got to say eff yes to the women in the Sargent House – I love them all. As for the lack of healthy family structure, I find it quite sad actually. Parents are more often than not portrayed as the bad figure in a YA novel. They’re either alcoholics, aloof, selfish and the list goes on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see why parents would be aloof, or avoided altogether, since it’s would make it easier for the MC to run off on adventures, but a lack of a familial structure can also be detrimental. The women in the Sargent House are a fantastic example of how having parental figures that truly care for you, can actually further the plot instead of holding the MC back.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

