Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | April 2016

I completely failed in my TBR list for this month, reading only 3 out of the 9 books. It’s not great, I recognise that, but I branched out and caught up to The Raven Cycle (which is something I’ve been wanting to do for the past couple of years) and I also gave the Throne of Glass series a try.

Books I read

  • Prince’s Gambit by C. S. Pacat: Captive Prince was chiefly character-driven and focused mostly on the politics within the court of Vere, however, the sequel relied heavily on plot and action, all while expanding the world and building on previously established relationships. My favourite part of it was Damen being neck-deep in denial about his feelings for Laurent (one of my favourite tropes), which was executed perfectly.
  • Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat: I came out of this trilogy complete Laurent/Damen trash and I’ve been stalking the tumblr tag ever since. This is not something I regret. Kings Rising was epic in all its aspects, I highly recommend you all go read it.
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah. J. Maas: I’d been wanting to start this series for a while now but I fell across a few negative reviews of Throne of Glass that really put me off. A few weeks ago, however, I fell upon Liam’s read-along of it and I decided it would be best if I actually read the book to be able to keep up with everything. I was not impressed. I came out of feeling completely indifferent towards most of the things happening, and incredibly irritated with the main characters because they were all terrible. This is the book that’s enthralled all these people?? It’s only marginally better than City of Bones!
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: With all the hype surrounding The Raven King, I decided it was time to pick this series back up. The Raven Boys was a reread for me and I was less excited by it the second time around. I found the writing to be a little too flowery for my taste and the characters were developed nearly enough in this first book.
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater: Once I got used to the writing (which did take an entire book, mind you), I could fully appreciate the story. I liked Dream Thieves a lot more than The Raven Boys both in terms of plot and characters.
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater: Best book of the series so far, if you ask me. All the different threads began coming together in BL,LB while Blue and her boys were just magical in the way they interacted with each other and I’ve added Pinch to my OTPs because, good god they are adorable. I can’t wait to get my hands on The Raven King and I absolutely refuse to believe Gangsey is going to die (ahh denial, my old friend).

Challenges

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: I changed my challenge from 80 to 90 books at the beginning of April and, while I didn’t manage to read as much as I’d have liked, I’m still 6 books ahead according to the counter.
  • The Series Challenge: I managed to read The Captive Prince trilogy this month so that’s one more series I can cross off this challenge!
  • The New Releases Challenge: I thought I hadn’t read any new releases this month but I completely forgot Kings Rising actually came out in February of this year!
  • The Commenting 365 Challenge: I’m still behind on this challenge, but I’m very slowly) working on it!

Not a terribly productive month as far as reading is concerned and I doubt May will be any better in that regard with my exams coming up but I’m ever the optimist!

How was your month? 

 

12 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | April 2016

  1. I agree with everything you said about Blue Lily, Lily Blue. I looooove the friendship between Blue and the boys. I love when there’s a strong friendship aspect in books and it’s done so well in The Raven Cycle. I can’t wait to get The Raven King either!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to start reading TRC before I get spoiled for the ending (I am already spoiled for some of it thanks to tumblr haha). I have to admit that ToG did not work for me, but I found the 3rd and 4th book in the series excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard that a lot about ToG so it’s good to know the series gets better later on! I’ve been staying far, far away from TRC posts on tumblr because I don’t want to be spoilt, but I definitely recommend it as a series. It’s a little tough to get into, at first, but its definitely worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. TRK is definitely one of the books I want to tackle this month (because otherwise I feel like I’ll end up spoilt through tumblr)! I cannot recommend The Captive Prince trilogy enough, it’s absolutely amazing and one of my favourite series at this point!

      Like

  3. I did like Throne of Glass, although I was not impressed by the supposedly badass assassin. The Raven Boys was added to my TBR this week, I have heard so much about it!
    I am still struggling to manage my schedule to have more reading time. I usually only read 6 books a month, but I’m on holiday now so I’m hoping to add a few more stories to my goodreads counter.
    Good luck with your exams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’ll probably need all the luck I can get…
      The first book of ToG left me rather indifferent, but I hear it gets a lot better after the 2nd and/or 3rd book, so I might give the rest of the series a try sometime later on.
      I highly recommend The Raven Cycle as a whole. Personally The Raven Boys wasn’t my favourite book in the series but it was a great beginning to it and it’s quite unique as a book.
      Here’s to a successful reading monthe then!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard the ToG series gets much better after the 2nd book so I might just give it a try sometime later on.
      The Raven Boys, I think, is a kind of hit or miss book with very few reviews falling in between. Personally the writing was not to my taste at first but once I got used to it I could really appreciate the series the way it deserved. I hope you like it as much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

