Bookish musings

Monthly TBR | May 2016

If you think this month’s list looks somewhat familiar, that’s because it is. Having failed to read 6 out of the 9 books on my April TBR, I picked out the 4 I really wanted to get to this month and added 3 new books, bringing the total up to 7. This is a fairly ambitious goal considering I have a number of exams at the end of May, but I’m an optimistic person.


  • City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare: I started reading CoLS in April, but I dropped it a week later so I’m hoping I can get through it this month and finish the series.
  • The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh: I wasn’t impressed by The Wrath and the Dawn for various reasons, but I’m still holding out hope for the duology as a whole.
  • Ruin and Rising and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: Is it me or is everyone talking about these two books even more lately?
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater: I’ve avoided potential spoilers so far (by wisely staying away from the Pinch tag on tumblr) but I doubt that’ll last so I’ll be reading this as soon as I can.
  • Stasis by Kim Fielding: I was browsing through Netgalley yesterday when I saw Stasis was available to read and I figured I’d give it a try since the plot sounds incredibly interesting, and it’s heavy on the political intrigue (which is something I’m really into atm).

15 thoughts on “Monthly TBR | May 2016

    1. Update: I finished reading The Rose and the Dagger yesterday, and I did enjoy it more than the first one. There are still a few weaknesses here and there but I felt like it was a satisfying conclusion in a lot of ways.

      Like

  1. I’m sad to hear that you didn’t like The Wrath and the Dawn- all these bad reviews are making me want to take it out of my tbr list already. But I do want to give it a read. 🙂

    I’d love to know what you think of The Rose and the Dagger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would recommend you read it if only for the writing, which is spectacular. It’s just some elements didn’t sit right with me so I wasn’t as star struck as others.
      I actually finished The Rose and The Dagger yesterday and I have to say it’s definitely my favourite of the two. I’ll be writing a review about it soon, but overall I think it was satisfying in a lot of ways, with quite a few surprises. It did have its weaknesses but it was definitely better than the first book.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard great things about The Rose and The Dagger, like you said. I’ll read The Wrath and The Dawn soon and let you know what I think 🙂 Thanks for letting me know.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Grisha universe is so unique and expansive that it’s hard not to talk about it. I’ve read the trilogy and Six of Crows, both are excellent in completely different ways. I would recommend reading Ruin and Rising before diving in to Six of Crows though, not because there are spoilers, but because I felt like I had a bit of an upper hand already knowing about the universe and seeing the references to the Grisha trilogy were really exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m hoping to read Warrior Witch and ACOMAF this month, among other books. Hopefully I’ll get to Sarah’s book soon, I’ve been hearing about people seeing spoilers so I feel like every time I go on Twitter etc. I’m entering the lions den… I loved City of Heavenly Fire, hope you enjoy it! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Avoiding spoilers is honestly a talent, if you ask me because they just seem to be everywhere and out to get us! I’ve heard really good things about ACoTaR so I might pick up the series soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s good to hear! I don’t mind those types of spoilers, myself (in fact, I’ve seen fanart of ships on tumblr which made me go read the book in the first place), but anything major tends to annoy me quite a bit.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

