Memes & Features

The Hidden Oracle’s Best Lines of Dialogue | Hype or Like Friday

So I recently discovered this fantastic new meme called ‘Hype or Like Friday‘, created by Larkin @ Wonderfilled ReadsJill @ Rant and Rave About Books, and Britt @ Geronimo Reads, which focuses on book hype and whether or not a certain book deserves the hype. As part of that, each week we get a question to answer that has something to do with the hype, as this week it’s ‘Best or worst lines of dialogue from a hyped up book’. I originally planned to use my favourite lines from Captive Prince (I’m only slightly obsessed) but I finished The Hidden Oracle on Tuesday and I just couldn’t resist, so here are (some of) my favourite lines of dialogue, conveniently split into 3 categories:

1//Meg is amazing

“How do you know for sure which demigod?”
I blinked. “What?”
“Which demigod you’re supposed to serve, dummy.”
“I…uh. Well, it’s usually obvious. I just sort of run into them. That’s why I want to get to the Upper East Side. My new master will claim my service and—”
“I’m Meg McCaffrey!” Meg blew me a raspberry. “And I claim your service!” Overhead, thunder rumbled in the gray sky. The sound echoed through the city canyons like divine laughter. Whatever was left of my pride turned to ice water and trickled into my socks.
“I walked right into that, didn’t I?”
“Yep!”

And with those few lines, Meg was added to my list of favourite characters.

“It’s not slavery.” She chewed off a piece of her thumb cuticle and spit it out. “It’s more like mutual cooperation.”
“Mutual in the sense that you give orders and I am forced to cooperate?”
“Yep.”

Meg reminds me so much of my sister, it’s actually a bit scary.

“You look yuck.”
“And you, Meg,” I said, “are as charming as ever.”

2//The Jackson family just can’t catch a break

Instead, the young man swung open the apartment door and said, “Why?”

Poor Percy.

“Sacred Sibyl!” I cried. “Madam, there is something wrong with your midsection!” The woman stopped, mystified, and looked down at her hugely swollen belly.
“Well, I’m seven months pregnant.”

 

 

Poor Sally.

“Yep,” Percy agreed. “That pretty much describes my entire life: Because Poseidon.”

 

“Not criticizing, but why is he grooting?”
Meg frowned. “Grooting?”
“Yeah, like that character in the movie…only saying one thing over and over.”

3// Solangelo (!!!!!!!!!!)

“Nico, we need to have another talk about your people skills.”
“Hey, I’m just stating the obvious. If this is Apollo, and he dies, we’re all in trouble.”
Will turned to me. “I apologize for my boyfriend.”
Nico rolled his eyes. “Could you not—”
“Would you prefer special guy?” Will asked. “Or significant other?”
“Significant annoyance, in your case,” Nico grumbled.

Will is the actual sun, headcanon confirmed.

“Understood.” Will looked at Nico. “Will you be my buddy?”
“You are a dork,” Nico announced.

All the headcanons are true and I’m in shipping heaven.

“Nico,” I said at last, “shouldn’t you be sitting at the Hades table?”
He shrugged. “Technically, yes. But if I sit alone at my table, strange things happen. Cracks open in the floor. Zombies crawl out and start roaming around. It’s a mood disorder. I can’t control it. That’s what I told Chiron.”
“And is it true?” I asked.
Nico smiled thinly. “I have a note from my doctor.”
Will raised his hand. “I’m his doctor.”

I wonder just how often Nico has a note from his doctor.

“You’re staring,” Nico noted.
“I am not,” Will said. “I am merely assessing how well Paolo’s arms are functioning after surgery.”
“Hmph.”

Nico chill, please.

Will rolled his eyes. “Nico convinced them to disembark.”
As if on cue, I heard Sherman screaming from somewhere far in the distance, “I’ll get you, di Angelo!”
“You guys go,” Will told me. “The chariot is only designed for three, and after that shadow-travel, Nico is going to pass out any second.”
“No, I’m not,” Nico complained, then passed out.
Will caught him in a fireman’s carry and took him away. “Good luck! I’m going to get the Lord of Darkness here some Gatorade!”

Fangirling aside, it’s great to see that Will is comfortable with Nico shadowtravelling.


It’s just hit me that I now have to wait at least an entire year until the next book comes out. The wait will kill me, I swear.

Which book’s dialogue did you enjoy the most? Alternitively, which book’s dialogue did you think was the absolute worst?

 

18 thoughts on “The Hidden Oracle’s Best Lines of Dialogue | Hype or Like Friday

  1. AHHH STOP TEASING ME WITH THESE MAGNIFICENT QUOTES UGH I CAN’T WAIT TO READ ITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT ;;SDAKFJVNLAKDFK;JDAADSVDWEAKVJLF (Sorry this is RICK RIORDAN HAS A NEW BOOK AND THERE’S PERCY JACKSON mode). I GET WAY TOO EXCITED EVERY TIME.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pff no need to apologise, this was how I felt when I was reading the book! THO is definitely worth all of this excitement!! You have no idea how much I loved reading it, I actually squealed whenever Solangelo made an appearance, and Apollo was fantastic (I loved him making grand statements and Meg just shutting him down)!
      Honestly I did think of putting pretty much all the dialogue in the book for a second, but decided against it in the end. 😛
      So my advice is read it as soon as possible, you won’t regret it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AHHHH STOP I LIKE CAN’T BREATHE AND CAN’T WAIT. THIS IS WHAT MY LIFE HAS NEEDED. Though I’m completely confused with who Meg is, I’m sure I’ll find out soon! 😀 I CAN’T WAIT. I WILL FOR SURE READ THIS ASAP.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I realised now Meg is entirely new, sorry about that 😜. This is definitely what you need in your life and I wish I’d just put the entire book in this post because IT DESERVES IT. 😍😍😍😍

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never read the Percy Jackson series and I am such a fucking greek mythology nerd, but you bet your ass I added this book to my TBR. I am excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely read all of the Percy Jackson books if you like greek mythology, Riordan incorporates it into modern times very well, so I’d recommend it without reservation. If you plane on reading the first two series, I’d suggest you read those first because THO does spoil important elements from the previous series.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post!!!! Meg is awesome and Solangelo….SOLANGELO IS LIFE!!! I swear I started crying when I found out they were canon :)))) What did you think of the ending?? Leo’s return was just…no, I mustn’t speak of it or I’ll probably explode with excitement.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved pretty much everything about this book, and the ending just left me wanting more! I loved the fact that Leo’s back and he’ll obviously be important to this series and I just can’t wait to see the rest of the gang. Also I need more Solangelo like air because they are important and precious babies ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

