Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | May 2016

So, first off, I’d like to apologise for randomly taking half of May off. I genuinely thought I would be able to keep up with blogging while I plunged into my first exams, but I failed pretty early on. That being said, I still managed to read 8 books in May (of which only 3 were on my TBR), because I’m the absolute queen of procrastinating.

Books I read

  • The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh: While I wasn’t as impressed as others by The Rose and the Dagger, I did like it more than The Wrath and the Dawn. Admittedly this was probably because I went into it with little to no expectations, but the magical flying snake also helped a lot. Overall, however, I was let down because the thngs I was really looking forward to were glossed over, while several sublots seemed to just come out of nowhere, which ultimately just weighed down the story.
  • The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan: One word. Yes.
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stievfater: Yet another series conclusion that I was disappointed in.  Again, here there were issues with cramming new unnecessary subplots in the book, but the biggest problem I had with TRK was its ending in relation to one particular character, who had already been sidelined during most of the novel. That’s not to say I didn’t like the book, on the contrary there were aspects of it that I adored but I think it’s the weakest book in the series overall.
  • Stasis by Kim Fielding: Stasis did not nearly live up to its premise, and felt like a watered down version of The Captive Prince.
  • Eon Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman: So my sister asked me for a book rec and, after shoving gently nudging her towards Eon, I figured it was time I reread it too. I loved it the first time around, and I loved it now too. While it’s heavy on the description (seomthing I didn’t remember and have now come to realise it’s part of Goodman’s style), the world she’s created is entirely captivating and I highly recommend it!
  • Eona by Alison Goodman: I loved everything about this book but the central romance. It is my honest opinion that Eona should’ve dumped the lot of them and ruled the empire herself, she would would’ve made a far better ruler than anyone else from that lot.
  • The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic: I read this one because of tumblr and, while I’m not starry eyed over it, it has its merits. I don’t usually read contemporary and I’ve never read a novel that relied this heavily on sports before, so I wasn’t immediately sucked in but I’ll definitely continue with the series to see where it goes.
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski: I read this book for Hype or Like Friday and I was decidely not impressed by it. There were problems right down to the novels’very structure that prevented me from enjoying it and I definitely don’t see what all the fuss is about with this one.

My Challenges

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: Being 8 books ahead of schedule I’ve come to the conclusion that I seem to binge-read as a way of procrastinating. Who would’ve thought?
  • The Series Challenge: With The Raven King and The Rose and the Dagger, I can cross off two more series from my list!
  • The New Releases Challenge: I read 3 newly released books this month which brings my total up to 10 right now.
  • The Commenting 365 ChallengeI’m still behind on this challenge, but I’m slowly working on it!

So that’s a wrap! May was more productive than I thought it would be but I do really regret falling behind on blogging like this.

How was May in terms of reading for you? Have you read any of the books I mentioned?

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | May 2016

  1. Looks like I’ll be passing on The Rose and the Dagger, then. Meh.

    But oh no, TRK is the weakest book in the Raven Cycle? I’m kind of crushed over here. Hopefully I’ll be so love-blinded when I read it that I don’t register all the flaws that you found. *Fingers crossed.*

    Congrats on making so much progress on your challenges! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!
      I definitely recommend passing on The Rose and the Dagger because, like it’s prequel, none of the cool aspects are actually developed (I mean who decides to just brush over the snake-riding badass fire-wielding magician???? Who?????). The reason I’m annoyed at TRK has a lot to do with the ending so I’m incredibly biased when I say this, but other bloggers I trust have liked it a lot so don’t just take my word on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Holy crap, I need that magician in my life. You’re right, seeing something that amazing brushed over would leave me a writhing ball of grump.

        We’ll have to compare TRK notes when I get around to reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just his character arc would probably make a better book than the entire duology if you ask me, which makes all this even more disappointing.
        I’m honestly looking forward to that because I have a lot of mixed feelings about TRK and I’d love to know your take on it!

        Like

    1. Well I didn’t like The Wrath and the Dawn so I didn’t really have high hopes for TRatD (probably why I liked it more than the first book actually), my problems with the series stem from how the main relationship develops, but it certainly has redeeming qualities to it. As for TRK, the ending is what really didn’t sit right with me, but I still think it’s a good book, I just don’t like it compared to the rest of the series.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just bought Eon and Eona after reading The Dark Days Club! Really looking forward to more of Goodman’s writing. Also, I think with The Winner’s Curse, you have to give the second book a try to get a real taste of why the plot is laid out like it is. There’s a problem with series where story arcs have to somehow span all the books but also work out well in each book, and in this case, I think Book 1 gets shortchanged.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eon and Eona are so worth it, especially if it’s the same writing style you’re looking for (there’s even significantly more action in these).
      Its a shame to hear the story arcs are still messy in the rest of the books but I’ve heard the series gets better later on, so I might just give it a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

