Bookish musings · Memes & Features

Book Recs: Fantasy | Hype or Like Friday

Fun little fact: I was going to do a post for fantasy recommendations at some point, so I was delighted when I discovered that this week’s subject for Hype or Like Friday, created by Jill @ Rave And Rant About Books, Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads, and Britt @ Geronimo Reads, was actually ‘Fantasy book recommendations’.

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

If you want epic fantasy, look no further than The Inheritance Cycle. Far from having a simple, clear-cut, high fantasy plot with a MC who discovers they’re special, loses a loved one, and then goes off on an adventure with an older mentor, The Inheritance Cycle weaves an impressive web of subplots that pretty much steal the spotlight, which is definitely one of the series’ strengths. Fair bit of warning, though, the series is very somewhat long but any Tolkien fans out there should just breeze through it.

 

The Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat

I’ve never read a series that uses the ‘enemies to lovers’ trope as well as The Captive Prince does. Honestly speaking, it quickly became one of my favourite series of all time, mainly because of just how amazing its characters are. I know it seems to get bad rep (mainly on tumblr) because of the contents in the first book (although it’s debatable whether or not the people I’m thinking of have actually read the first book. One of them hadn’t before they went on a long rant about just how bad this book is) but, I assure you, it’s more than worth it in the end.

The Seraphina Duology by Rachel Hartman

You may have noticed I have a thing for dragons. That’s because they’re awesome, there’s really no point in denying it. Which is one of the reasons I love these two books so much. The others are its characters (I have a thing for well-written characters too) and the romance which was the aspect that surprised me the most because this is exactly how love triangles should be done.

 

Shades of Magic by V. E. Schwab

If you’re into fantasy and haven’t read these, I just have one question: Why? Really this series is a winning combination with Magic+ Badass Main Characters + Dimension Travel + Magical Duels + Pirates + Bisexual Well Pretty Much Everyone, so there’s really no downside here.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

I finished this last night (because I had absolutely no exams to study for whatsoever. None, I assure you) and it’s as good as people say it is. I loved every second of this book, from its slow set up to the break-neck pace once the plot really gets going, and, of course, its characters (who have now joined my other Precious Babies That Must Be Happy And Protected™). I’ve never read a heist book before but I’ll definitely be more interested in that genre after Six of Crows.

Trick by Natalia Jaster

26594092

Literally anything I say will probably spoil the plot so I urge you to read Trick (which doesn’t get nearly enough love, if you ask me) if you want a good love story set in a fantasy world.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

25733990

Okay so this book is more Sci-fi than Fantasy, but I just had to talk about the prehistoric giant alien robots (yes, you read that right). Told in a format that, resembles Illuminae, Sleeping Giants is all about how modern humans discover a device left behind by aliens some 3000 years ago, and then proceed to try and figure out what it is. Honestly speaking, I’ve never read a book that has appealed more to my inner nerd because the way it’s told combines the science (without leaning on it too heavily like The Martian) with mythology, and questions on how our species would be perceived by more advanced civilisations. The only, really tiny, issue I had was the format, which didn’t work very well on my phone and iPod, but there’s no problem with wider screens.


I’d love to heard about some of your favourite fantasy books!

 

17 thoughts on “Book Recs: Fantasy | Hype or Like Friday

  1. I started reading fantasy only a while ago so I don’t have many books to talk about. I am kinda stuck with this week’s topic! I heard great things about Six of Crows and Shades of Magic, I will probably read them at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Better late than never, right? Fantasy is one of my favourite genres to read/watch, myself! Six of Crows and A Darker Shade of Magic are definitely two books you should read if you like fantasy, they’re both quite unique in their own right (although I perfer ADSoM out of the two)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As to your question why I haven’t read Shades of Magic yet: I DON’T KNOW. Also I love how I just complained in my recent review about the lack of dragons and here you are with dragon books haha. I’m so intimidated by The Inheritance Cycle’s size though. Hopefully one day I’ll get over that haha. I’ve heard of Captive Prince on Tumblr (in a positive light though!) but I had no idea what it was about. I’ll definitely check it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Books with dragons are my favourite type of fantasy books, so much so that I’ll even lower my standards of you give me dragons!
      I read the Inheritance Cycle as it was being released, so it was far less daunting of a task then, but I remember just seeing the final book in the bookstore and thinking ‘hooooly shit that is huge!’ and then putting it off for months specifically because of that reason. I can understand how reading them all in one go right now can be a bit intimidating, especially considering the language itself is rather dense (at least ot seemed that way to 17yo me, I haven’t read the books since).
      You should definitely check out both The Captive Prince and ADSoM because they’re two of my favourite series!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh so many books I need to read, so little time!! I really need to check out the Inheritance Cycle (I know, I know I’m ridiculously late to the party) And I want to read the Captive Prince at some point too! And I love V E Schwab- I’m currently halfway through the second one in that series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the number 1 problem of being a bookworm! Honestly, since The Inheritance Cycle is just so long and dense, i wouldn’t feel bad about being late to the party (in fact if i werre to reread them all now, i’d probably find it a rather daunting task myself).
      The Captive Prince is so, so worth it, especially once you get past the first book (which some people thought was a little rough)!
      What do you think of A Gathering of Shadows? Personally I liked it even more than ADSoM.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know right- and I’ve heard so many mixed things, it’s why I never bothered.Awesome!! I loved it- I think it built into something that had a lot more going on than the first one, but it took longer to get into than the first one- so I think I prefer the first one, but only by a teensy amount

        Like

      2. Yeah, I see where you’re coming from. It took a long time to get things going in AGoS, plot-wise, but I’m all for the characters and Lila kicking people’s asses with magic really made up for everything.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The Shades of Magic books are already in my “to be read” list, but the other books you mention sound cool and are going on the list now too. One of my favorite books with dragon is Dealing With Dragons, by Patricia C Wrede. Don’t know if you’ve read it, and it’s young adult but I still love the book. The sequels too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s an excellent decision and I’m delighted I could help you find new books!
      I’ll definitely be looking into ‘Dealing with Dragons’, it certainly sounds like something I would enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

