Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | June 2016

Can you believe 2016 is already half over? Because I sure can’t (queue in mini existential crisis about the fact that I’m turning 20 in just 3 short months and, dear god, I am not ready for that)…

Books I Read

Children of Icarus by Caighlan Smith: So I didn’t know what to expect when I picked this book up off NetGalley, but it’s certainly not what I got. It combined both an intriguing world with parts of Greek mythology alive in Icarus and his worshippers (an aspect I’ve rarely encountered) as well as an intriguing set of characters, and a fast-paced plot that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time!

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel: I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that included as many different nerdy aspects as Sleeping Giants. Aliens? Check. Linguistics? Check. Giant alien robots? Check. Governments being overly territorial over the giant alien robot only to never gain full access to it? Check. Just go read this book, you’ll thank me.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova: I’d never read a book centered solely on Latin American folklore so Labyrinth Lost really caught my attention. Throw in a fantastic set of characters, an unexpected romance, and a quest to save the world, and you’ve got me hooked. I just finished it this morning and I’m still reeling.

Blood Moon by M. J. O’Shea: Nope. Never again. This book started out So. Well. only to just completely devolve after the second chapter. I wish I’d known I was signing up for a trashy vampire romance because I don’t do that anymore. Even Twilight was better than this.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo: I am forever mad Darklina isn’t a thing but, other than that, Ruin and Rising was a really fun read. I can’t really weigh in on how it compares to previous books because I only have the vaguest memory of the plot, but I really enjoyed it in itself and I feel like it was a satisfying conclusion to the series.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: I’ve never read a heist book before but I’m thinking I should really get into the genre if the books are like this because, oh my, this was so good. See this is why I’d been putting this one off for so long because now I just need Crooked Kingdom!

Books I’m Currently Reading

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes: I’m about a third through the book and I’m starting to see why everyone talks about this series. It certainly has the makings to be great from what I’ve read so far.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye: I started this one a few days ago but I’ve barely gotten the time to read, but the first couple of chapters were engaging enough to keep me going.

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh: So far (I’m 36% in) I am unimpressed with Ivory and Bone, which makes me sad because it’s one of the rare books I’ve read set in prehistoric times. I certainly hope the rest changes my mind but, for now, I remain on the fence.

My Challenges

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: Still 6 books ahead here!
  • The Series Challenge: Ruin and Rising marks the end of yet another series.
  • The New Releases Challenge: I’m at 12 here after reading Sleeping Giants and Labyrinth Lost. Kind of peeved I couldn’t squeeze Ivory and Bone in there too…

How was your month reading-wise? Any thoughts on these books?

 

13 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | June 2016

  1. I am very intrigued by Sleeping Giants but I’m afraid the format will be challenging for me. I’ve read so many raving reviews about Six of Crows that I am definitely reading it this summer!
    I was happily surprised to see I’d read 8 books in June, and only one turned out to be a real disappointment, so the stats are good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like you had a great reading month!
      I recently got a physical version of Sleeping Giants and the format is a lot better, so, if you think you’ll have a pb with the kindle format, go for the paperback.
      Six of Crows is fantastic and i highly recommend it when you have the time!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read WWZ but I don’t think you can compare Sleeping Giants to The Martian. Beyond both being scifi, they don’t have much in common so i can imagine how that description would be misleading.
      I can’t speak for how Six of Crows compares to other heist books but, compared to Bardugo’s earlier books, I found it a lot better so I think that’s where part of the hype is due.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Darkling and I liked him and Alina quiet a lot! (Though my main ship was Nikolai and Alina, and the Darkling is my favourite character.) I absolutely hate Mal! I also read Six of Crows in June and loved it, I’m super exited for Crooked Kingdom to come out! 😀 Sleeping Giants really intrigues me and I hope to read it some time in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES GO READ SLEEPING GIANTS IT’S FANTASTIC!
      I really think Ruin and Rising wrapped up really well on all sides but the romance. I meam I would’ve been delighted if Alina had ended up with Nikolai BUT NO. Sure I like Mal as a character but I just don’t like him with Alina.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree, I really liked how everything else wrapped up. Though I would have enjoyed seeing Alina and Nikolai rebuilding the empire as well (if she had decided to stay with him). I didn’t like Mal at all, on his own or with Alina.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

