Tags

Femme Friday | Tag

ddd

A while back (a long while) I was tagged to do this lovely tag by Vivian @ Inked In Pages, which focuses on gender diversity amongst authors.

The rules:

  1. Post this tag post on a Friday (I know it’s not a friday but my fridays are full already)
  2. Tag three to five other bloggers (female or male, doesn’t matter).
  3. Post the Tag image with this.
  4. If you’re going to start doing the meme on your blog please link back so there’s a pingback in the comments section for others to check out.

#FemmeFriday was created by Vicky @ Books and Strips and you can learn more about it here. It’s all about highlighting all the wonderful women of the bookish world.

So, here we go!

What’s the ratio of male to female authors on your shelves?

So after sitting down and counting the authors for some 300+ books, I’ve read a majority of female authors at 69,5%. The fact that the majority are female doesn’t really surprise me, but I thought it would be much closer to 50-50.

Do you have any preconceived notions when it comes to female authors?

None at all (or at least none that I can think of right this moment).

Who’s your favourite female author?

Victoria Schwab is queen; I will fight you over this.

Have you ever read a comic or graphic novel written and illustrated by a woman?

I don’t read a lot of comics or graphic novels in general (I’ve read maybe 3?) but I’ve recently discovered this amazing little webcomic called OmgCheckPlease on tumblr which is written by Ngozi Ukazu.

(Seriously go check it out, it’s A-M-A-Z-I-N-G)

Have you read any LGBTQ books?

Not that many, a little more than 20, with most of them being from the past couple years actually. I’m working on fixing that.

Have you read a book by a female author of colour?

Yes, several actually. My favourite is The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, for how just how beautiful the entire book is.

Have you read any non fiction feminist books?

No, I don’t read non-fiction.

Who is your favourite female character?

Lila Bard, from V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic, is queen.

Is there a really popular female author you haven’t read?

I was going to say Jane Austen, but I did read part of Pride and Prejudice when I was going through my ‘I’ll become cultured now’ phase a few years back, so I’ll go with Emily Brönte.

Is there a popular non feminist book you enjoyed reading?

Um, I really enjoyed The Twilight Saga back in 2008, I can’t think of  anything more resent that’s not particularly feminist but I could be wrong.
(It’s a very subjective kind of thing, isn’t it?).

I tag:

 

10 thoughts on “Femme Friday | Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag! I have already done this one though and I think my answers would probably be the same the second time around, but thanks for thinking of me for this one! 🙂
    I completely agree with you about Lila Bard, she is definitely my all-time favourite female character and I can’t wait to see what she gets up to in the third book! Also I really really love The Star-Touched Queen, it’s one of the best books I’ve read this year so far!
    Great answers for this tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!
      Oh god don’t talk to me about book 3 February is still so far awayyy (*cries for 3 months*) and I need to know what’ll happen after *that* cliffhanger! I’ve read a lot of books but The Star-Touched Queen is simply gorgeous in every aspect, I was blown away but just how good it was.
      No worries about the tag btw!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for tagging me! 😀
    Victoria Schwab is one of my all time favourite authors. I have loved everything that I have read by her so far and I can’t wait to read more of her books.
    I loved The Star-Touched Queen, it’s definitely one of my favourite books of this year and I can’t wait for the companion novel to come out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Schwab is one of my auto-read authors at this point because everything she writes is just so good!
      The Star-Touched Queen is so gorgeous, I wasn’t expecting just how beautiful it would be when I first picked it up so I was absolutely blown away, I can’t wait to read both the next book and anything else the author writes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

