Bookish musings

Monthly Wrap Up | September 2016

It’s the very last day of September as I’m writing this and I really wish I could freeze time to just this week because I’m not reading for it to be over. Between travelling and starting my last year at uni (already, you guys I am not ready for this), I only read 6 books this month (well, 5 and a short story), most of which I really enjoyed!

Books I read

  • The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan: A masterful conclusion to my favourite Riordan series so far. I’m glad I reread it (it’s only my second time getting through the whole thing) because I gained a better understanding of the characters as a whole, which made me appreciate it all the more.
  • Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun: I was… disappointed by this book. I thought it was going to be like The 100 with magic/fantasy, but it just fell short. The worldbuilding, while extensive, wasn’t nearly as in depth as it should have been and introducing new elements right before the climax just threw me off. While there was potential in the story, and the writing was lovely, it was too short and crammed too many elements for me to be able to enjoy it properly.
  • Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff: I enjoyed reading this book, the plot unfolded nicely (even if I had an inkling of what the plot twist was going to be early on), the characters are likeable, and the writing really sucked me in. What really set Paper Valentine apart, in my opinion, was the way it handled certain themes, and, more particularly, anorexia. Instead of either sugar-coating it, it’s blunt and unapologetic, showing the very real consequences of what happens to the people left behind once someone dies from it.
    If you’re sensitive about either this or child abuse, I would suggest avoiding this book altogether, otherwise I highly recommend it!
  • Green But For A Season by C. S. Pacat: You all know about my love for The Captive Prince, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I read this the day it came out. I’m not used to reading short stories, so I had to go through this one a couple times before the sheer emotions of it hit me, but it’s amazing and only made me love the series as a whole more (which I didn’t think was possible, yet here we are).
  • Recreated by Colleen Houck: This book. This accursed book. After Reawakened I thought it couldn’t possibly get worse, right? Well I was wrong, so very, very wrong. I don’t even know where to begin pointing out the thing that don’t work out on the level of writing, plot, chronology, legends, characters, etc. When I started reading this, I was actually going to do a chapter-by-chapter analysis of it, but the amount of close-reading the whole book would require made me consider shooting myself. Maybe I’ll be patient enough for book 3.
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: Oh. My. God. Go read this book immediately (that’s really all I can say without spoiling the entire thing for anyone who hasn’t read it yet).

My Challenges

  • The Goodreads Reading Challenge: Still 5 books ahead here!
  • The Series Challenge: Crooked Kingdom, Blood of Olympus and Recreated bring my tally of completed series up to 12.
  • The New Releases Challenge: Between July and now, I’ve read 9 new releases (0.O), so I’ve now achieved the ‘New Release Pro’ level!

How has September been for you guys? Are you already overwhelmed like I am?

5 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up | September 2016

  1. I’m devastated that you’re not going to analyze Recreated (or any of Houck’s other genius novels, for that matter), because I would eat those posts up like candy. But your mental and emotional health are important, so I guess I can’t begrudge you the decision.

    Aaaah I’m so glad you loved Crooked Kingdom! I bought it in hardback unread, which I almost never do; now I’m even more eager to read it.

    Congrats on kicking butt on all of your challenges! How do you do it, I can’t even.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not kicking butt on all my challenges, I’ve all but given up on one of them (which is why it doesn’t feature here), but the others kind of line up with what I usually read so they’re more of an afterthought if anything (also a way for me to keep track of what kinds of books I read because I’d be hopeless on my own).
      It’s not just the mental wellbeing issue, it’s also the fact that there are several chapters were literally nothing happens in the beginning so they wouldn’t really make for compelling posts. There’s certainly enough material to make up for it in later chapters but the beginning would be so slow? Idk I’m still on the fence with this one so don’t be disappointed quite yet.
      CK is amazing. So, so amazing and you made the right decision with getting it as soon as you could!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

