Bookish musings

Monthly TBR | October 2016

So my semester’s shaping up to be fairly busy so I’m not sure how many books I’ll be able to read going forward, which is why this list is limited to just 6 books this month. The first three are the first book in a series/a standalone but the others (Maghus Chase #2, A Torch Against The Night, and Ghostly Echoes) are all sequels so their blurbs are probably spoilery!

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

28220892


In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.
In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.
But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair…
 

Miss Peregrin’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487


A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Vicious by Victoria Schwab

18180495

A masterful tale of ambition, jealousy, desire, and superpowers. Victor and Eli started out as college roommates?brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find?aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge?but who will be left alive at the end? In Vicious, V. E. Schwab brings to life a gritty comic-book-style world in vivid prose: a world where gaining superpowers doesn’t automatically lead to heroism, and a time when allegiances are called into question.

**ATTENTION SPOILERS FOR MAGNUS CHASE, JACKABY AND AN EMBER IN THE ASHES**

Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

26874946

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.
(Probably the book I’m most excited for, whcih is great because it comes out tomorrow, only a day after my birthday)

Ghostly Echoes by Will Ritter

28110857

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder—her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, Detective R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

25591568

Elias and Laia are running for their lives. After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.
Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.
Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both.


Any thoughts on these books? What books are you planning on reading/eagerly anticipating this month?

 

16 thoughts on “Monthly TBR | October 2016

  1. All the best with the TBR.I thought that I would get to read Miss Perengrine before the movie but that didn’t happen. I hope that you will enjoy it and all the other books. Have a wonderful new month. Happy reading and all the best with the semester too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It’s a really good series (my favourite is the second book). And I loved Vicious, it’s one of my all time favourite books. I really hope you enjoy both of those books as much as I did! 🙂 Good luck with your TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent list! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on all of them (or whichever you find the time to read, at least).

    I’m about to pick up A Torch Against the Night, and Vicious is lined up for sometime next month. We’ll have to compare notes.

    Belated happy birthday! Were you able to celebrate? Eat delicious foods? Treat yourself to a book or two? Hope it’s the start of a great year for you! =D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! ATAtN is turning out to be pretty good (then again I remember approximately nothing from my reading of the first book so don’t take my word as law) and I think you’d enjoy it quite a bit (especially Helene, poor girl deserves the world).
      As for my birthday, the best thing I did was fall back on my bed after having 8h of class in a row in 3 different buildings (I didn’t even manage to get a cupcake because the shops closed BEFORE I got out of class), I did however treat myself to Crooked Kingdom (am I that predictable?) which BLEW MY MIND (seriously cannot recommend it enough). I don’t know about great year considering the sheer amount of things I have to do before graduating in May, but it’ll certainly be interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Helene was probably my favorite character of the first book, so I’m excited to see how she develops in the second! Though all this talk about how roughly the book treats her has me vaguely alarmed. She’s precious, please don’t hurt her too much.

    Oof, that sounds like the roughest class schedule possible. But hurray for an excellent birthday book! That’s the best present possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My class schedule makes me hate Mondays all over again, let me tell you.
      The book’s a little rough on her, true, but she handles it so well! When I read AEitA, I didn’t really think all that much of Helene (I am very disappointed at myself for this) but she pretty much blew me away in this book, so I think you’ll be really happy with her.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I just finished An Ember in the Ashes so I cannot wait to dive into Torch. I’m also waiting on Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor to come in at the library. VIcious will be my next Schwab read and now I just need the time to fit them all in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This quarter’s shaping up to be a pretty busy one for me too, but busy is good 🙂 As long as it’s happy busy. Hope you’re doing well, and that you’ve gotten one or two books in. I’m so excited to read A Torch in The Night, and ooooh, I hope you love Vicious! It’s one of my favorites 😀

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Torch in the Night is really amazing, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Unfortunately I doubt I’ll be able to read Vicious this month but it’s definitely the next book I’ll pick up once I finish my current one! I hope you managed to read a bit more than I did!

      Like

Leave a Reply

