Memes & Features

Best Book Recommendations | HoL Friday

hype-or-like-friday

This Friday for Hype or Like Fridays, a meme created by Jill @ Rant and Rave Books, Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads and Britt @ Geronimo Reads, the subject is ‘Book recommendations I’m thankful for’. I’ll be honest, I almost opted to skip topic because I didn’t think I’d remember what’s been recommended to me, but, as it turns out, that’s not true!. The books on this list aren’t part of my all-time favourites for the most part, but I am grateful to have read them for several different reason. So, let’s get started!

Tumblr recommendations

When my dashboard explodes with a new show/book/film, I usually feel compelled to look into it, if only to avoid major spoilers. Off the top of my head, there are 3 books I’m utterly in love with, that I owe to tumblr:

Blogger Recommendations

Now we come to the books that I’m not particularly a fan of, but are still included on this list because they changed/influenced the way I read.

I think we can all agree that the hype for The Wrath and the Dawn was incredible. In fact it’s one of the reasons I was reluctant to read it, also because I just didn’t feel like reading something that was, for the most part, just a love story. That is until I fell on Liam’s review of it (on Hey! Ashers), which was the first negative review I’d come across. While reading it probably influenced the way I read the book, I’m happy I did it because I didn’t allow the stunning writing to overshadow the book’s rather glaring problems (outlined, for the most part, in my own review).

I follow both Sasha @ A Booktopia and Regan @ Peruse Project, so when they both gave glowing reviews of The Curse of the Sphinx, I pretty much picked it up the next day. Unfortunately, the book turned out not to be as good as they said, in fact I knew I’d be disappointed within the first 50 pages. So why mention it? Well I realised that I couldn’t exactly put as much trust in their reviews as I had before.

Friends’ recommendations

Yes, yes, I know what you’re thinking ‘Someone had to recommend HP to you before you actually read it?!’. Well, yes; you see I’d seen the films but I hadn’t actually read the books themselves until I was 15, so a friend of mine coerced gently pushed me towards them. They really only served to make me more of a potterhead, so it’s all good now.

My best friend recommended this one to me, something she rarely ever does, so I read it immediately, and I’m very glad for it. It’s a gorgeous book, very nicely written that explores the fine details involved in time-travel/parallel dimensions which are often left out of other books.

My sister couldn’t stop raving about The Star-Touched Queen and, since our tastes usually run along the same lines, I was blown away by the sheer beauty of it. I don’t read many books purely for the love story these days, but TSTQ deserves all the praise.

I’d lost all interest in reading books in Greek when my Greek teacher recommended this to me, but this book renewed by interest in them, which is surprising because it’s a (somewhat) fictionalised account of a greek politician’s life and subsequent execution (so not what I usually read).

I’m taking a seminar on short stories this semester at uni and, as dubious as I was to follow my seminar instructor’s recommendations, I’ve really come to love Katherine Mansfield’s use of the genre. I, in turn, would recommend it to anyone who wants to be initiated to the short story, or even the veterans because it’s pretty great over all.


So that’s all for this week! Honestly, book recommendations are awesome and I really love it when someone takes time to think about a book they’d think I’d like; it really warms my heart!

What are some book recommendations that you hold dear? Let me know!

 

3 thoughts on “Best Book Recommendations | HoL Friday

  1. And lo, as the call of birds doth herald the pink of dawn, so too doth your call of my name herald the MASSIVE BLUSH I AM BLUSHING RIGHT NOW.

    Excellent book recommendations always feel like precious gifts to me; as a booknerd, there aren’t many things in the world more beautiful and astounding than a great book, and the people who recommend them to me are essentially gods blessing me with joy and light.

    The five top recommendations in my life are:

    1) Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern books, recommended by Lizzy (to whom I address some of my review) when we were tiny children,

    2) Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown, recommended by my beloved 7th grade English teacher,

    3) Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice, recommended by my mom when I was a goth teen in need of a Mr. Darcy,

    4) Laurel K. Hamilton’s Guilty Pleasures, recommended by a friend when I was a goth teen in need of ALL THE VAMPIRES (well before the YA vampire craze),

    5) Captive Prince, recommended by you. ❤

    Each of those recommendations felt like a bolt from the heavens, and unlocked something in me, in my reading habits, and in my writing. Major, life-changing recommendations.

    I don't know if I've ever thanked you for your recommendation of Captive Prince, by the way. So: thank you, so much. Laurent is exactly the character I've been trying to write (in approximately 90% of my stories) since my first real novel attempt in seventh grade. To finally meet (through someone else's eyes/writing) the specific character I've been obsessed with all my life is staggering, in a great way. It has me motivated to try writing again, as opposed to being content with endlessly daydreaming and plotting. I can't thank you enough for bringing those books into my life. =)

    Like

  2. Great choices! I haven’t read The Star-Touched Queen yet, but I think I may need to add it to my TBR after seeing how much people are enjoying it. And also, Carry On is great! Baz and Simon’s conversations had me laughing out loud, they were just so snarky and sarcastic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

